Water Tank Miss Match Mistery! (2 Viewers)

OddSocks

Free Member
Apr 10, 2014
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
My lovely 1990 AutoTrail Apache.....

I cleaned out the water tanks today, as I am new to the van and decided to measure them. I think that waste tank was just over half full looking at the meter, it drained about 60 something ltrs. So my guess is that is a 100ltr waste tank. I drained and filled the fresh water tank too - it is a 50 ltr tank.

So why the mismatch? I would have expected a larger fresh water tank.

Armytwowheels

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 10, 2012
Market Harborough
Funster No
MH
Carthago S Plus - Iveco
Exp
Since 2011
Hi Oddsocks

The answer may be - don't trust the gauge for the waste tank! Ours lies to us all the time. Unless a previous owner has changed the tanks for some reason.

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)
What Sandra says :thumb:it is normal for the fresh tank to be larger than the waste but they could have done it the other way around simply by fitting what fits in the gap :winky: try measuring the tanks to compare
terry

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

easygirl

Free Member
Nov 7, 2010
Bolton
Funster No
MH
Kontiki
Exp
3 years
Waste are usually smaller than fresh, i presume because we dont put all the fresh water into the waste, we use some for cups of tea etc

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
What Terry says.. I think they they fit the tanks to suit the space.. but in my experience the fresh is generally smaller than the grey .. this means you don't need to dump so often.. but generally when you fetch fresh you dump grey anyway.

For example .. on our RV the fresh was 30 galls .. grey 50 gals and a 50 gal black ..

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp