Water Pump Trouble in Auto Trail? (2 Viewers)

Stevewheel

Free Member
May 2, 2017
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail V Line 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
Appealing to all you seasoned Auto Trailers out there...we have a relatively new Autotrail V Line SE PVC and, for the most part are very happy with it. Inevitably there are a few things that are just plain "different" to our last MH but nothing that is a real problem TBH.
However, I need to ask about the water pumps that Auto Trail fit. Ours delivers plenty of water to taps/shower/wc etc but it does have a very noisy "machine gun" kind of sound. I've drained down and refilled etc and followed all the instructions to ensure we don't have air in the system but to no avail. Do we just have to accept that Auto Trail water pumps are noisy?
As always I remain grateful for all suggestions/guidance...thanks in advance.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
A picture of the pump and pipework would be useful.. don't have an Autotrail , this is generic advice

it is most likely a have a Surflo pump or similar positive displacement pump, and they can be noisy if not installed properly.. things to check

1. pipework going into the pump not supported properly and is ratting against the wall or floor.. so check fixings.
  2. pump not mounted on rubber feet.. or they have come loose.. check and fit
  3. pipework connected to pump should be flexible ,if it's rigid pipe you can buy a Silencer flexible hose kit to connect to the pump.
The other thing you can do is to make an acoustic sound box to fit over the pump to reduce the noise..

Another option that can help reduce pulsing and hence noise, is to fit an Accumulator on the discharge line from the pump. Fiamma make them

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Dec 30, 2008
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
since Dec 2008 after 10 years caravanning
If it is a surflo pump it could need the pressure switch adjusting,