Free Member
Jan 16, 2012
East Anglia
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I am a newbie
Has anyone had problems with their water pump due to the cold weather freezing it? We did everything you are advised to do - drained out the whole system during the coldest months - we usually use the van in the winter months but as the weather has been so bad since January, it has been stored outside for the past 3 months apart from a few trips when we have used it just to pick up some large items we bought. The van had only been serviced last October and we used it for a 3 week trip just before Xmas. We had it fixed and was told not to drain down the whole system completely as the small part that had broken was caused by just a small drop of water left in the system that had frozen and caused the part to expand and break. We were also told that the newer vans
( ours is 2009) are fitted with a different kind of pump now that fits outside. Our water pump is fixed inside under the wardrobe cupboard.

mick noe

Funster
Deceased RIP
Apr 14, 2009
near Boston Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
low line
Exp
I would always drain down completely (search fun for full instructions)
by this time of year normally would leave water in but still getting very hard frosts in Lincolnshire and will not risk leaving full yet.

Daveo2006

Free Member
Jan 25, 2013
kent
Funster No
MH
Apache 700
Exp
3 years
Mine is under the dinette seat behind the cab and not outside.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
that little bit of water in the pump will freeze....but so will a lot of water in the pump.

very hard to get all the water out but the more water out, the better the chance of a working pump later.

my filler is via an onboard valve and hose connector so i can blow out almost all the water with compressed air.