Free Member
Feb 5, 2013
Devon
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
I'm a newbie
I filled the m/h with water prior yo my trip to Scotland,by the time I reached the lakes the water had nearly all gone. When I had tried to fill the water heater I noticed that it was taking a long time to fill. On inspection underneath I noticed water was coming out of an overflow, presumably the water heater one. The pump is also working even though all taps are closed and there is no water in the system. When the m/h is posted up I can see a puddle underneath and nothing is switched on.

I know this is vague but I am not technically minded
Could some valve not be closing?

Aug 30, 2012
Home of the war horse
Funster No
MH
burstnar T640
Exp
Sounds like the anti freeze valve is open
Some where near heater is a valve with a flip up lever it is open
This is to stop water heater from freezeing up

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
It sounds like you have left the boiler dump valve open .... this is probably a small yellow lever in the pipework at floor level close to the boiler. I f it's sticking up it is open and you can push it either way to close it. This could also be an automatic valve which opens just above freezing to protect the boiler if it's is not turned on.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
Hopefully it is just the hot water drain valve(s) rather than a leak somewhere. Depending on how the pump is set up (there are a couple of ways and I can't remember details) it is probably running because water is being "demanded" by the boiler.