Water bottle or camel back (1 Viewer)

Apr 26, 2018
England, UK
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Learning all the time
Now I do the odd long (for me) ride and summer approaching. Which way is best to go. Bottle or back pack. Also what do you guy put in just water ?

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Now I do the odd long (for me) ride and summer approaching. Which way is best to go. Bottle or back pack. Also what do you guy put in just water ?
The water bottle kept in a bracket on your bike will be about 500ml typically. Good for an hour to 90min of riding in summer.
A hydration pack will be 2L typically. Good for a half day ride in Summer.
Edit: assuming you start the ride hydrated!!

Camelback are expensive. Look for different brands ??
Biggest issue I have with hydration packs is keeping them clean.
Which reminds me of your other question.
The easiest liquid to take on a ride is water. I prefer squash. I used to take sport hydration drinks that come as a powder you add water too, but they leave you and your drink container sticky ?

TL;DR you’ll sooner rather than later want a bottle AND h

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
I have never used a camel back but would imagine that in the nice weather it will make your back very warm, when touring we use two bottles each but if they are plastic it can taint the water so we add a little juice to make it taste better, in the early days and touring in Turkey so very hot and drinking lots we used "isostar" which is a powdered electrolyte replacement drink.

Martin

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 18, 2018
South Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Globecar Campscout
Exp
Since 2018