Wanted - anybody have a GPS UK/Eu maps please.

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by savantuk, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. savantuk

    savantuk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Ratings:
    +43
    My Garmin Nuvi was stolen a few weeks ago. I have a spare, a version 1 Tom Tom one, and I can't get a set of EU maps to download from disc. I think I'll keep it as a spare, but I need another Receiver complete with UK/EU maps.

    Does anybody have a GPS receiver with full UK/EU maps?? Not too expensive, but cash waiting for right model.

    Thanks.
     
  2. deepstar

    deepstar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    lancashire
    Ratings:
    +0
    sat nav

    hi
    im in same boat have got a blaupunkt rome model sat nav with no maps
    will any sat nav map fit???
    help rgds deepstar
     
  3. savantuk

    savantuk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Ratings:
    +43
    As far as I'm aware, no. I think maps are brand specific - probably a function of the OS.

    Good luck,

    Doug
     
  4. jhorsf

    jhorsf

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +8,081
    have you tried fleabay for damaged with maps? eg item number 300328290635
     
  5. savantuk

    savantuk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Ratings:
    +43
    OK, panic over, I've been an bought a new Nuvi this morning:Smile:
     
  6. deepstar

    deepstar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    lancashire
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks doug
    i will have to keep looking
    rgds deepstar
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    34,302
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +31,171
    i thought the tomtom maps were 'coded' to one specific machine once downloaded via a PC/laptop!

    otherwise you could just borrow a disc and tomtom loose out on map sales revenue.

    i remember trying to put speed camera POIs, loaded on my startup disc, on my daughters tomtom and it wouldnt allow it.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice