Garry - June

Free Member
Jun 24, 2019
Pershore, Worcestershire, UK
Funster No
MH
A Class Frankia
Exp
Hi All, i realise this has been discussed before but just looking for a bit of clarity... i have a Voltronic MPP350 with the AES Fridge supply output... have been sat here for a whilst now and the power AES availability led is constantly glowing.... so with all this spare solar power maybe i should hook it up to my AES capable fridge... Is it just a case of connecting a cable from the voltronic to the fridge socket..... i presume the fridge will then automatically switch to 12v and take power through the elektroblock... can anyone clarify this... and if not what i have to connect and to where.... and if it is all automatic... Thanks..

Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
How does it work?

I switch my fridge to 12v when the batteries are full, and the solar is producing, but if the fridge needs say 10a, but the solar is only producing 5a presumably it draws from the batteries?

I know Lenny has mentioned this, and I think his runs in 30 minutes blocks?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
As Martin says, mine is wired like it. So as not to flatten your batteries it works in ½hour blocks. Also the Dometic firmware is a bit dumb and has 12v Solar at top of the list of power options so often when on EHU the fridge switches to 12v. I originally fitted a switch in line with the AES cable I have since fitted a relay.

Aug 31, 2009
Near Long Stratton, Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Carthago C line
Exp
25+ years
It depends on how the fridge gets it 12 volts. On our Carthago the fridge 12 v power is direct from the alternator, it does not run from the batteries, therefore the Votronic AES feature doesn't work.

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp