Vista upgrade to Windows 7

Discussion in 'Computers' started by scotjimland, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
    What's the cheapest legal way to upgrade from Vista to Windows 7 ?
     
  2. Douzeper

    Douzeper Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    Antrim, Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +58
  3. 656

    656 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Location:
    The universe
    Ratings:
    +291
    See if there is an upgrade path. MS sometimes offer one. Look here to see if your current PC can run Windows 7
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
  5. lunarman

    lunarman Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,557
    Location:
    South Glos
    Ratings:
    +1,068
  6. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,551
    I'm always wary about putting a newer OS onto an old machine as the hardware might not be up to the job. If it is just for usability "upgrading" from Vista to XP might be preferable. I did that with one of our laptops and it runs much better ::bigsmile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. lunarman

    lunarman Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,557
    Location:
    South Glos
    Ratings:
    +1,068
    Must have been typing at the same time:ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
    It's not that old Graham.. It's a Sony VGN TZ2 1WN, about 2 year old, I want to upgrade for Charlotte starting senior school next month ..
     
  9. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,551
    Seems to have a high enough spec. Problems documented in reviews seem to be Vista rather than hardware related so 7 should be an improvement :Smile:
     
  10. motorhomer

    motorhomer Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +320
    Windows 7 is an improvement over Vista, but I am not convinced that I would upgrade an existing machine, not sure the benefit is worth the cost. There is also a risk of compatibility issues.

    You say the reason for doing it is because charlotte is going to high school. If this is the only reason I would check what the school has, in my experience schools often have older systems and it might be better for her to have the same system as the school.

    I used to run computer courses for U3A in a school and their machines were always several years behind what was commercially available.
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
    well, it's not the only reason.. it is a crap system and I use it as well.. but I hear what you say.. I'm in no rush so will see what the school are using ..

    cheers
     
  12. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,037
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +42,475
    Dumb question

    How do they know if you are a student or not?
     
  13. moandick

    moandick Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    Landrake, Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +113
    Many, many moons ago, I purchased an Adobe Photoshop program as a student - and I had to supply proof that I was actually attending the course, Course number, course run by, when and where etc., etc., etc.

    Mind you the program that I wanted originally cost something like £700 and they eventually let me have it for quite a bit less - however, I have upgraded 4 times since then at a cost of about £500 a time - so Adobe did well out of the deal, in the end!

    Dick
     
  14. 400ixl

    400ixl Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +8
    Most of the time the check for student status is having an education based email address.

    Personally I wouldn't perform an upgrade on a used system but back up the data and do a clean install. Windows 7 will run better on it than either XP or Vista would, so I wouldn't worry about that side.

    If you do get to a point where you need assistance, then let me know and I should be able to help remotely, or at worst you are not too far away.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,551
    They check the length of your beard.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
    when you register you give the name of college or school with pupils name..

    maybe it's just a loop hole to sell the software cheap .. and they don't actually check ?
     
  17. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    28,089
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Ratings:
    +91,906

    Be careful, they don't check because they don't care whether you meet the licence requirements or not. They will not refund if the software company refuses you a serial number. So read those conditions carefully, I would suggest you do not buy any Adobe products if you cannot verify absolutely your student status. Microsoft on the other hand do not carry out such checks:whistle: I used them to get MS office pro for under £50 with no checks but paid £500 for the Adobe Master collection and had to send copies of letters verifying student status.
     
  18. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    28,089
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Ratings:
    +91,906
    Just to add, IMO, if Vista works on your Sony, it will work better with Win 7 and it will probably have every driver so the upgrade will be smooth and quick. :thumb:
     
  19. Pusser

    Pusser Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +194
    I would echo what has been already said. In my view it is most important to trash Vista re partition\format and do a clean install.
     
  20. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
    Windows 7 ... I'm impressed

    What can I say... never thought I would praise a windoze ... had 7 running on my small 12" Sony for about a week, did a fresh install and I am very impressed... so much so I may now buy a new windoze lappy instead of a Mac ... :Eeek:

    Can't believe I just typed that ... :roflmto:
     
Loading...

Share This Page