Viber Loading Probem

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Wildman, Jun 24, 2015.

  1. Wildman

    Wildman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Ratings:
    +8,647
    I am trying to set up a replacement laptop, one of the programs I am trying to install is VIBER, it loads fine but requires it to be installed on a phone before it will initialise it. I did not have a phone last time I did this but forget how I managed to get the password to initialise it. I only have an old Sybian phone and do not use it for the internet, screen is so small I cannot see it, hee hee. I just use it as a phone (how strange). Anyone have an idea how it may be overcome or have a throw away unlocked android phone going cheap?
     
  2. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,455
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4,266
    Never used Viber but their website seems to say your Nokia phone would be OK.
    Also says -
    • How do I get started with Viber?
      You don't have to register! You know your phone number and so do your friends. Viber uses your phone number as your "identity" and lets you make free Viber phone calls to any of your friends who have Viber - using THEIR phone number. Once you've downloaded Viber, you will receive an access code via SMS or callback to activate Viber. The access code ensures that you are the real owner of the cellphone number you have registered and prevents others from obtaining your access code and placing calls with your caller ID. You can make calls and send texts via WiFi, as well as via 3G.
    Did you get an access code when you downloaded the software?
     
  3. Wildman

    Wildman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Ratings:
    +8,647
    they send the access code to the phone, not the PC and at the same time requires you to have viber on your phone. so no good to me.
    you download the software, type in your phone number and they send the code or at least that is the way it used to be, now they check for an installation on the phone.
     
  4. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,687
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,392
    sign up for a free text me account and get a free virtual phone number. then have viber text the code to the virtual number. I use the same method to install whatsapp on tablets

    https://go-text.me/
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,687
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,392
    sign up for a free text me account and get a free virtual phone number. then have viber text the code to the virtual number. I use the same method to install whatsapp on tablets
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,137
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +5,496
    ................... and Google " Sybian" :Eeek::Eeek::Eeek::Eeek::Eeek::imoutahere:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,814
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +9,808
    Yo

    You don't want to get one of those too close to your ear whilst mistaking it for a phone:eek:
     
  8. Wildman

    Wildman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Ratings:
    +8,647
    that is the bit that plugs into your ear, not you rear, hee hee
     

Share This Page