Using Domestic Fridge in Hot Summers (1 Viewer)

Mou and Iryna

Free Member
Jan 28, 2021
Javea - Spain
Funster No
MH
Burstner Ixeo 726+
Exp
I am learning fast 😊
Hello there. I need some help with my Domestic fridge. I have a 2010 Burstner on a Fiat Ducato. I live in Spain and we recently had exceptional hot weather, averaging 34 deg. I put my fridge on 240 v on max to cool it but I read that it should be on lower setting in hot weather. Yet whilst driving, I put it on battery. When I got to the campsite, whilst waiting the campsite to connect us to 240 v, the ice cream melted and everything got warm. I am new at this, in hot weather it seems that the batteries cannot cool the fridge. Temp inside went from 7-8 deg to 18 deg. It seems that fridge works ok whilst the engine is running but not with the same results as 240 v. I have never had a MH over hot summers. Is what I am experiencing with the batteries normal in hot summers?. Reading the various suggestions. In summer I am to put the fridge on level 2. If I am to wait any length of time, put fridge on gas until it is plugged to 240 v. Failing this, keep engine running with fridge on battery. Do you agree? Do you have any good recommendations? I am going on 10 day holiday next week. Appreciate any good recommendations. Thank you. M

Nov 5, 2013
Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Carthago chic e-line
Exp
Since 2013
It is unlikely that the fridge is connected to the your batteries,it would flatten them in no time.The three sources for cooling are 240v,gas and a 12v supply from the alternator when the engine is running so as you have worked out as soon as you turn the engine off you need to put it on gas 👍
It is possible to put a couple of computer fans on the vent to help air flow.

Aug 18, 2014
Lorca,Murcia,Spain
Funster No
MH
Transit PVC
Exp
16 years since restarting
I put my fridge on 240 v on max to cool it but I
Works far better on medium . Gas is the same. just over half way for me.