Using a Scooter with motorhome (1 Viewer)

Jul 5, 2013
Tunbridge Wells, Tunbridge Wells, UK
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2013
Hi, I am still a newbie so would like some advice please

I am looking at the feasibility of using a lightweight Scooter with my motorhome. Looking at the Honda Vision 110 which weighs in at 102kg. We are retirees (just) and I have a full UK motorbike licence, but in reality have not ridden one since 1969 when I got rid of my Lambretta. The Honda seemed easy to control and I felt at home on it straight away. My wife seemed OK on the back. Mind you all of this was in the showroom, not on the road!

I can get it in the garage of my Adria Coral 660SL (just), and it will still leave me about 50kg of spare loading capacity in there for chairs etc. Have been looking at lightweight ramps and a wheel chock.

I am thinking of using it so that I can go and see local attractions and shops while leaving the motorhome set up. I guess the maximum distance we will go in a day on it will be 50 - 100 miles, and I doubt I will ever take it out when it raining. We will stay in and read on those days.

So how easy is all this? Is it easy to wheel it up the ramp and in? All the pros and cons please of using it the way we are thinking would be helpful.

Edit - one more thing I have just checked. We have bed supports going across the garage and the Honda's handlebars will not go under them. So I will need to back it in rather than wheel it in! Feasible???

Many thanks in advance

Last edited:

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
are you using the rear axles max weight and the scooters weight in your calculation ?

if so it doesnt work thsat way.

the scooter may be 102kg but positioned aft of the rear axle imposes a higher weight on the axle due to the leverage effect.

you obviously have the axle weights so try this calculator to get an accurate axle weight with the scooter in the garage.