Using '3' feel at home while in Spain

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Jaws, Dec 7, 2015.

  1. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,132
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,553
    Proly a daft question and one I could answer myself when I get there, but....

    To dial the UK do you still use +44 with the feel at home set up ?
     
  2. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,023
    Location:
    West Country and France/Spain
    Ratings:
    +823
    Yes
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Armytwowheels

    Armytwowheels Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,565
    Location:
    Market Harborough for the Summer
    Ratings:
    +9,097
    Seconded.
     
  4. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,132
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,553
    Ta..
    Another question you may be able to answer @Flamenca or @Armytwowheels :)
    I think it will be handy get a 3 PAYG sim for Woman to use while we are away ( she uses Vodafone here in the uk )
    Do the PAYG set ups also allow feel at home calls ?
     
  5. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,023
    Location:
    West Country and France/Spain
    Ratings:
    +823
    Yes, it works with PAYG. Ensure that the SIM is activated by using it before leaving UK. (y)
     
  6. Armytwowheels

    Armytwowheels Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,565
    Location:
    Market Harborough for the Summer
    Ratings:
    +9,097
  7. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Ratings:
    +17,870
    hasn't payg got to be used in uk for 30days before it will allow the use abroad ?
     
  8. wanderingyp

    wanderingyp Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +642
    No - just activated in UK. Mine was activated in UK and used for first time in France - no problems have been using now for 18 months.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. jumar

    jumar Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    929
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1,769
    No Gus, you will see from my previous posts that we are regular 3 users, PAYG for me and you is a fastastic set up.
    I am currently in Norway using it, in the summer other parts of Europe that supports it.
     
  10. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,559
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +3,991
    I already Have a 3 Sim, (had it for about 5 years) Will it work? Or is it necessary to get a dedicated sim?

    Pete
     
  11. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +4,033
    You do need to buy a bundle for payg to work on at home you otherwise pay roaming charges.
     
  12. carolyn

    carolyn Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Sherborne Dorset
    Ratings:
    +2,193
    I have a payg 3 sim that I am using in Spain and didn't activate at home but it was one with the £15 add on and has worked fine. Nick has a payg 3 at home so we bought the add on before we came away. We have topped it up here no problem. He only looks up football rubbish or similar so just bought the 500mb data top up for £5. It is odd how you have to add the 0044 to text, what's app etc even on numbers I've used for years abroad on other networks but only on some of the numbers. The 3 sim in my wifi works as well .
     
  13. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,761
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Ratings:
    +6,679
    Is it worth buying two and rotating them? For long stays away...
     
  14. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    15,901
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +16,458
    My only problem using 3 feel at home especially if you are not holidaying alone is using your mobile between the group. If you use your Three to phone Her Three when she is standing next to you, it will be charged at the international tariff.
     
  15. Hazelnut

    Hazelnut Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just got sim free phone and the 3 add on so we can ring home from spain .but we cant ring our friends on the same camp site if this is right we will have to take another phone with us also.
     
  16. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,761
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Ratings:
    +6,679
    No you can't ring locally for free...but it's not that much. Check roaming charges
     
  17. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,643
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Ratings:
    +4,902
    We live in Spain and have the 3UK sim with our UK telephone number. We use it for calling UK numbers.
    Across a camp site to another UK phone will work, but if they are not on 3UK as well you will pay loads to connect to them!!!! however receiving calls from the UK or another UK mobile across the camp site will cost you nothing.
    Whilst in Spain you are best using a pay as you go Spanish mobile as it's cheaper for local calls. I have a Spanish mobile number and wife has UK number mobile.
    We use whatsapp:
    https://www.whatsapp.com/ which uses data and now has a phone call system, so no roaming charges as long as you have a data connection be that wifi or using your data allowance.
    Works for us.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  18. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Ratings:
    +17,870
    I have 2 . Both have had the " If you use it for 2 complete months in a rolling 12 month period we will turn off the international roaming services etc;etc, "

    additionally lack of use for 6(?) months & they cut the number off.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  19. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,132
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,553
    OK, a three payg sim duly ordered..

    When it arrives I will pop it in the fone, walk down the road and get it activated ( sod all signal on Three where I am )

    lady said as long as I activated it and topped up that is all that would be needed for it to work just fine in Spain on the feel at home system..

    Thanks to all for your help !! :xThumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  20. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,417
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    It's bizarre this one as I've been using the same sim now for over 4 months in the same year, three months earlier this year and now back again, and it's still fine with no text messages as yet!
     
Loading...

Share This Page