USA Road Trip (1 Viewer)

Team Benjo

Free Member
Feb 28, 2010
Sheffield, UK
Funster No
Hi Everyone

Looking to see if anybody has any helpful tips for us..

My husband and I are going on our first motorhome holiday in June, with our son who will be 14 months by then. Its my first time, although he spent all his childhood holidays in motorcaravans.

We decided to start big, we are renting a 30' RV in New Jersey, and driving it as far down as Augusta, GA. We are hoping to take in Roanoke, Nashville, Memphis, some of Alabama, some nice spots on the east coast, and Washington DC.

Has anyone any experience of a trip like this? Theres loads of books out there about Walmarts where you can camp for free, truck stops etc. Can anyone recommend if any of these would be worthwhile buying?

We are planning to make some stops just off the road whilst we make some ground, and then find some nicers spots where we can do some exploring and hanging out.

Really interested in any tips or advice

thanks

Claire

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
Hi Claire, there are a few members here with extensive experience of touring the US so I am sure that you will get some great advice here.

Meanwhile welcome to the Fun:thumb:

Claire - Before you go you really should read the Motorhome Security Handbook. details below:Smile::thumb:

Upvote 0
Feb 22, 2008
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Nearly Tugging
Exp
Since 2004
Hello Claire and all welcome to MHF, we did a couple of trips one starting San Francisco and visiting many of the fabulous places in California, Nevada Arizona and the other starting NJ travelling north to Cape Cod, Toronto, Niagara and back to NY.
Incredible and unforgettable hols.
We took our Garmin navigator with all the POIs and map info for the States but also referred to the KOA sites book which was provided by both Elmonte and Cruise America.
The people are friendly and helpful, I am sure you will love it, have a great time