Urgent help required -- Newbie in France

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by moulin 87, Jul 10, 2016.

  1. moulin 87

    moulin 87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    Ratings:
    +1,363
    Hi Picked up the new motorhome yesterday in Villeneuve sur Lot, everything was going OK until......

    I decided to switch on the TV to watch the tennis etc. when the satellite dish on the roof which was already up and 'locked' onto Astra 2 (or so I thought) moved around and the LNB has now wedged against an open rooflight and of course stopped..It is not possible to move the arm back, it is quite rigidly locked and the rooflight is fully open ....

    Either as a safety measure or because a fuse has blown there is no lights on the sat system...

    I think it will be possible to undo the screws holding the LNB but at the moment we are in full sun at 32C....

    IT is a Teleco Classic system.

    Any ideas would be appreciated....

    Attached is a photo just prior to the 'issue' P7100013.JPG
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  2. pyro

    pyro Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    silver coast, portugal
    Ratings:
    +9,027
    I would try removing the LNB (but not disconnecting) and substituting the fuse, then getting dish to move. Do not force it
     
  3. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,620
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,215
    All I can do is say "Congratulations". To the best of my knowledge you have a totally new fault and in the tradition let it be named the "Moulin Disaster".

    Quite an appropriate name when you think about it.

    If you take the above advice make sure that if the dish closes or rotates the LNB etc is not going to get trapped.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. moulin 87

    moulin 87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    Ratings:
    +1,363
    The arm has been released from the skylight but the dish is not moving so there is an 'electrical' fault somewhere, I'll be going through the fuse box looking for a blown fuse, any other ideas???

    Thanks in advance
     
  5. Stonemags76

    Stonemags76 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Derbyshire Dales
    Ratings:
    +121
    That happened to us, but we ended up with a cracked roof light after some "forceful" manoeuvres! If you can get on the roof, hubby says you can loosen the nuts holding the dish onto the base plate just enough to allow you to close the window.
    Posted this before I read you had freed it.
     
  6. Stonemags76

    Stonemags76 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Derbyshire Dales
    Ratings:
    +121
    I think we pulled the fuse out, left it for a while and put it back in in order to re set the dish?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Stonemags76

    Stonemags76 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Derbyshire Dales
    Ratings:
    +121
    Or turn on the ignition and see if the dish comes down?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Big Nick

    Big Nick Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +322
    Glad I got a Camos!!
     
  9. moulin 87

    moulin 87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    Ratings:
    +1,363
    I've replaced a blown fuse in the control box and tried starting the engine but without any joy....Looking now for blown fuses at the main fuse box...

    Thanks again
     
  10. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,229
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    Ratings:
    +16,683
    It is an installation fault speak to the dealer on Monday and let them deal with it
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. moulin 87

    moulin 87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    Ratings:
    +1,363
    As it is France , they are not open until Tuesday!!! I've replaced the one blown fuse I could find so as you suggest we'll have to wait until Tuesday!!!
     
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,349
    that's a polite way of saying it's a complete balls up ..

    the dish should be fitted so that it can rotate 360 deg without hitting any roof furniture or open roof lights.. Whoever fitted it should be bull whipped..

    if it has happened once it will happen again.. take it back and insists it is re mounted correctly..
     
    • Like it Like it x 5
  13. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,620
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,215
    They will love that, holes to drill, holes to fill.

    But unless an electrical interlock could be fitted it is the only safe way.
     
  14. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,349
    not necessarily..

    it may only be fixed with Sikaflex, that's all I used to fit mine.. no screws .. so could be removed with cheese wire.. and the same cable entry could be used..

    clearly the installer didn't have a clue or didn't read the fitting instructions ..

    just my opinion
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  15. jtp890

    jtp890 Funster

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    wakefield
    Ratings:
    +424
    congratulations on buying a dethleffs, good investment.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. moulin 87

    moulin 87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    Ratings:
    +1,363
    Update...

    Only had a 2 amp fuse and a 7.5 amp fuse spare, it was a 5 amp which blew, just as Andy Murray won I tried again with the 2 amp and the dish closed but again lost power, checked 2 amp fuse it was blown, is it OK to check with 7.5 amp fuse...
     
  17. Chipster

    Chipster Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Ratings:
    +431
    I would, but I appreciate I'm not there. However if a 7.5a blows there is definitely something wrong but also you need to try and sort it. Chances are you've blown the fuse as a result of the stall. Replace with a 5a when you can and enjoy your van.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,352
    Location:
    notloB
    Ratings:
    +48,606
    A 7.5 should be ok if there isn't a fault, the 2amp may not have been big enough for the current needed to move and park the dish. 5 amp asap though.
     
  19. moulin 87

    moulin 87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    Ratings:
    +1,363
    Found a guy on the site with a spare 5 amp fuse, seems to be working again but will take it to dealer on Tuesday..

    Thanks for your help...
     
    • Like it Like it x 7
  20. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,620
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,215
    FUN wins yet again.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
Loading...

Share This Page