Upgrading solar (1 Viewer)

Oct 19, 2020
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
i'm a newbie
I'm wondering how straightforward is it to upgrade the solar generating capacity on coachbuilt motorhomes. Most seem to have a single solar panel, 100w or thereabouts. Is it fairly straightforward to swap that to a more powerful panel, plus an extra panel, and replace the leisure batteries with 2 lithium ones?

Aug 4, 2019
North East Riviera
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Enough to Survive
Roof space and existing cable size permitting, it shouldn’t be a problem....the only thing you might have to think about is if your solar controller has a charging profile for lithium batteries, if not that would need changing too. If you went for lithium that may also mean changing the vans onboard charger too.

Reactions: Vic

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Why remove existing only to replace it with a larger one plus a new one.... Just add two new ones, or one extra large one, and keep the existing panel.
Your only limit is roof space.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Sundowners

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 30, 2007
Suffolk/Central Portugal
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
37 years
Why remove existing only to replace it with a larger one plus a new one.... Just add two new ones, or one extra large one, and keep the existing panel.
Your only limit is roof space.
Given the roof space (which we don't have) I would leave the existing one, complete, exactly as it is and fit whatever i could fit on the roof as a separate system.
Living in Portugal we are going to make do with just the one--- but we do have three batteries to help us through those cloudy days!!!

OP
OP
S
Oct 19, 2020
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
i'm a newbie
But wouldn't two odd sized panels create an unbalanced system? I know nothing on this subject! I believe the inverter would also have to be changed if using lithium.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No