uh,oh!!! Looks like windows will get 5-30 slower next patch tuesday.

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Gromett, Jan 3, 2018.

  1. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9,289
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +26,320
    Linux already patched.

    Full story here.

    https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/01/02/intel_cpu_design_flaw/

    Looks like I might be moving over to ryzen sooner than I expected :(
     
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    9,122
    Ratings:
    +22,977
    what's the best free one to go with only ever used windows
    bill
     
  3. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    14,918
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Ratings:
    +26,676
    From reading that article it appears that AMD chips are okay ...

    I love this bit though, whoever came up with that deserves a medal:

    At one point, Forcefully Unmap Complete Kernel With Interrupt Trampolines, aka FUCKWIT, was mulled by the Linux kernel team, giving you an idea of how annoying this has been for the developers.

    :LOL:
     
    • Funny Funny x 5
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9,289
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +26,320
    Hence my quote about Ryzen :p

    Yup, Linux is much more open about it's internal workings. You tend to see lots of humorous comments in the code...

    Here are some comments I have seen in code I have worked on (from memory)

    /*** DRUNK -- FIX LATER! ***/

    /* No idea why this works, check back later */

    /* who wrote this pile of crap, it is so dumb it is clever */

    The last one was put in because the original author had done something extremely dumb but it actually worked as intended. Rather than fix it the new guy put this comment in...
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  5. Guigsy

    Guigsy Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +430
    If this really does cause a double digit percentage slowdown on Intel hardware, there's going to be a lot of IT server upgrades happening very shortly!
     
  6. RowleyBirkinQC

    RowleyBirkinQC Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Dazed & Confused
    Ratings:
    +10,047
    I wonder if there will be much impact to major Cloud hosting vendors, presumably they may have enough redundancy/contingency to absorb?
     
  7. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5,294
    I've used Linux Mint for a number of years. Currently running versions 17.3 and 18.3 (Cinnamon has a "Windows like" desktop) on a few machines.
    https://linuxmint.com/
     
  8. Guigsy

    Guigsy Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +430
    The bigger you scale, the less spare you need. And I can't believe they'd have 20% redundant redundancy to account for things like this.
     
  9. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9,289
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +26,320
    AMD has had to patch linux to fix the intel patch :rofl::rofl::rofl:

    [​IMG]

    Basically it removes setup_force_cpu_bug routine
    Then adds a conditional so that it only gets applied if the CPU is not by AMD :clap2:
     
  10. NomadicDad

    NomadicDad Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +31
    Wow - thanks for the heads up on this as I hadn't heard about it. More here too :unsure:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9,289
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +26,320
    Moving from Windows to Linux won't help as it is an Intel CPU bug not an OS bug.
    If you want to ensure you have no speed impact you would need to move to an AMD Ryzen CPU..

    I was planning to make the move to a Ryzen CPU in 2019 but will be bringing this forward if I see much speed impact in my workloads.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  12. LesW

    LesW Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Suffolk, twixt Bury St Edmunds & Stowmarket
    Ratings:
    +1,126
    Well that's handy..
     
  13. stevec

    stevec Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +328
    Presumably the same applies to Macs. Lets see how long Apple takes to respond.
     
  14. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9,289
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +26,320
    Not sure they actually announce security patches?
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  15. Guigsy

    Guigsy Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +430
    There are rumours that it's also affecting ARM (i.e. the processors in most phones and tablets), but I'm not sure if that's because they made the same balls-up as Intel, or because the patch automatically applies to all processors, even if they aren't vulnerable (hence AMD's fix-fix).
     
  16. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    9,122
    Ratings:
    +22,977
    are you typing in Russian haven't got any idea what all that means :Eeek:
    bill
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. Vanman

    Vanman Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Runcorn
    Ratings:
    +1,472
    That's what you get for reading the COMPUTING section ;)

    I doubt that many Home Users will even notice the difference as core processor speed is rarely an issue. A couple of seconds to the boot up time is neither here nor there and 30% on things that happen as fast as you type is next to nowt.
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  18. BobtheBass

    BobtheBass Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,065
    Location:
    Tewkesbury
    Ratings:
    +5,808
    I was beginning to think that I was the only one on this forum who wasn't a computer whizz kid! I have no idea what 90% of the comments above refer to, but can work my iPad quite well so I suppose compared to my dad I must be a computing genius to him.......
     
  19. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7,705
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +20,111
    I don't think it's that they don't announce them. Their practice of making sure any new update is properly finished, debugged and tested before release mean patches and bug fixes are pretty rare things in OS X. The exact details of any update are always available for anyone who wants to look.

    Anything important just happens in the background without disturbing you.

    It's interesting that the article doesn't mention Apple at all. You would assume that a design flaw in the chips would apply across the board wouldn't you.

    MacRumours thinks Apple will be affected as well: https://www.macrumors.com/2018/01/02/intel-chip-design-flaw/

    They also go further and suggest it's not a new flaw and anything up to 10 years old with Intel chips will be affected. :Eeek:

    I wouldn't be surprised if they've patched it already. I had a system update that needed a restart (3rd one of 2017 from memory :whistle:) a week or 10 days ago. If it needed to be at base OS level as suggested I wouldn't be at all surprised if they'd just added it to that. I've not noticed any drop in performance so far but I'll keep an eye on it.
     
  20. nicholsong

    nicholsong Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    SW London, Poland and all Europe
    Ratings:
    +2,069
    A QC and presumably - surely not, I presume?
     

Share This Page