LIFE MEMBER
Mar 10, 2012
Lausanne
Funster No
MH
NiBi Arto 85E
Exp
Since 2012
The grip will be a lot better than you think, i use these on my Brompton (same Kojak thread pattern) and they are really good. Leaves and slippery moss type surfaces are to be avoided though...

They'll certainly be faster;)

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
A tyre on a bicycle always has contact with tarmac.
If you have a tread you'll have less rubber touching the ground than a slick.

What you know about aquaplaning is from cars with much wider tyres.
A bicycle can't aquaplane.

Mud & oil are a game changer tho :eek:
But that's just describing the tyre grip on wet road surfaces.
There are other aspects to riding in the wet to consider. Like increased braking distances, road markings (like white lines) and metalwork.
From Road Cycling UK: How to ride in the wet

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
But who rides in the wet, you have to be mad:LOL:
:)
I tend not to go out on a training or fun ride if it's raining at the start or rain is certain to hit me mid ride but mistakes do happen.

But when I used to tour on a bike, sometimes there isn't a choice & you will get wet :)

OP
OP
Innkeeper
Apr 26, 2018
England, UK
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Learning all the time
Well tyres seem ok. Gave them a small 6 mile test wasnt raining but roads where wet. They seem good. Never broke any records due to roads and had been out early so legs a bit tired. So bring on the sun and dry roads

Ridgeway

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 10, 2012
Lausanne
Funster No
MH
NiBi Arto 85E
Exp
Since 2012
:)
I tend not to go out on a training or fun ride if it's raining at the start or rain is certain to hit me mid ride but mistakes do happen.

But when I used to tour on a bike, sometimes there isn't a choice & you will get wet :)