Tyres - Summer/All year/Winter Advice please? (1 Viewer)

Oct 26, 2016
Hertfordshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
My wife and I are new to motorhoming and have a 7.4m A class motorhome. We fit winter tyres on our cars both for general safety and the fact that we drive through Germany to the Alps in the winter where it is a legal requirement.

We need new tyres on the Motorhome, as they are the originals and due to age nead changing. We have discussed with our Tyre supplier who said that on some of his commercial vehicles he keeps winter tyres on all year round as it gives better grip.

HOWEVER having spoke in length to him now that he has had chance to get some prices he thinks that only Michelin and Continental make Camper specific tyres and none are all year round or winter. He states that Yokohama make a strong commercial tyre that is branded 121 as a winter tyre but is not specified for a Camper....

We are confused as understand its a legal requirement to have winter tyres on in Germany, but we are unable to find motorhome specific tyres.... HELP please what do you all do???

SandraL

Free Member
Jan 24, 2012
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Hymer b694sl
Exp
Since 2012 + Caravanner for 20+ years
Not a camper tyre but one which continental say can be used all year AND has the 3peak mountain and snowflake. Continental four season 2 tyre. The original conti four season may not have the 3 peak mountain symbol. Available in 225/75/16 in 118 or 121 rating.

Upvote 0

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
I wouldn't and don't worry about tyres being motorhome specific, when ours was new they fitted Michelin Agilis 81 and now the new vans out of the factory in Germany get Continental vanco fourseasons 2, thats good enough recommendation for me so that's what we run, they are 121 load rated in the size 225 75 16 and they are legal all year round in Germany.

Martin

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements