Tyre valves (1 Viewer)

Sep 10, 2013
Chelmsford Essex
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Getting better
Now I have been driving for over 50 years (yes I know its hard to believe, with my boyish good looks and natural charm) in this half century I have suffered a few punctured tyres generally not an issue just a slow leak easily sorted.
In the past year I have suffered valve failure on a couple of wheels on my car. Jaguar XF. One leaked and another failed when I gave it a tweak, the valve stem failed and the air just escaped. The valves were less than two years old.
Today when sorting the van after a trip, I noticed a soft tyre on the rear twins. I tried to inflate but lo it was the valve stem leaking. Luckily with twin rear wheels i simply inflated the inner to a higher pressure and carefully drove to a local tyre fitter. They changed the valve and all was ok. Before using the van again I will have the other five valves changed.
Now what's going on with valve quality, the tyre guy said yes it does happen he didn't know why.
So my suggestion is that you give your tyre valve stems a regular wriggle and have them changed every couple of years.

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
idealy change to brass or metal valves . mind my trailer as rubber valves and yes change them when having a new tyre . but if inbetween that if moving the valve causes a leak i just change the valve . luckily i was a tyre fitter so its easy. protecting the valves from sunlight with wheel trims helps . often think should i change to metal valves but keep a stock of rubber ones and it would be a shame not to use them.

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012