Trucknav Gps

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by paulel, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. paulel

    paulel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Brittany
    Ratings:
    +35
  2. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,364
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Ratings:
    +20,062
    Hi Paulel,

    Many of us on here are using them with great results. Many of us bought ours from Navibuzz (reliable supplier), for much less, and with a larger memory capacity, including free map updates which you download yourself.
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/7-Truck-G...314?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item5b0ddd815a

    Have a look before you purchase.

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,364
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Ratings:
    +20,062
    BTW, if you do purchase one, the user manual is a bit naff, however, a fellow Funster (Trikeman) has produced a very informative user manual available to download in "Resources", as are many POIs for the same Sat Nav (from Lunarman). (y)

    Cheers,

    Jock.
     
  4. paulel

    paulel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Brittany
    Ratings:
    +35
    Hi Jockand Rita,

    Thanks for your quick reply. That actually sounds like a better unit and it's cheaper! All I have to do is ask the seller if I can connect it to my Mac.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. paulel

    paulel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Brittany
    Ratings:
    +35
    Didn't see your second post, thanks very much for your help.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,364
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Ratings:
    +20,062
    If you mean connect it to your Mac for updates, you don't have to. It's not like a TomTom or Garmin. Map and software updates are done on the micro SD only, via an adapter where necessary. Updates are done from https://www.naviextras.com/shop/portal/newLogin

    It's a cracking piece of kit, and certainly value for money.

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
  7. paulel

    paulel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Brittany
    Ratings:
    +35
    Sorry to be a pain but I can't find the Noza Tec NTu026 model on the comprehensive list of devices supported on the Naviextras site!
     
  8. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,364
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Ratings:
    +20,062
    My updates were done for me by Lunarman (John), so I can't help you out this time, however, that is the correct website for the updates.

    This link also re commends using naviextras.com.
    http://www.igonavigation.com/map-updates-and-extras

    Cheer's,

    Jock.
     
  9. paulel

    paulel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Brittany
    Ratings:
    +35
    Thanks for all your help Jock. I think I'll just go ahead and order it, I can't really go wrong at that price!

    Paul
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,364
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Ratings:
    +20,062
    A friend ordered one prior to going to Germany, and her son updated the maps using the link I put up. She and her husband are over the moon with it, as it hasn't put a foot wrong during their tour. (y)

    Cheers,

    Jock.

    P.S. Don't forget to download the manual from "Resources".
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. Kelsae2

    Kelsae2 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    kelso,scottish borders
    Ratings:
    +73
    Just ordered one of these units from Navibuzz. Hope it is better than the last one I ordered from a different supplier. Had to get a refund as it was not always taking us to the correct address or wanted to go by obscure route.
    Many thanks for the timely info about this one as we are on holiday next week and could do with a reliable unit.
    Charlie.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  12. paulel

    paulel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Brittany
    Ratings:
    +35
    After all that they won't ship it to me in France! What's the matter with these people. I have a British bank account and a British registered PayPal account so it's not as though they are going to lose their money on the deal.
     
  13. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,364
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Ratings:
    +20,062
    Sorry to hear that Paulel, :(

    My friend had hers shipped to Southern Ireland, no problem, at the same shipping rate as for other EU countries.
    Try another supplier of the same unit, however, you may not get the micro SD card with them, ie, only 4Gb built in, instead of the expansion to 12Gb.

    Good luck, (y)

    Jock.
     
  14. paulel

    paulel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Brittany
    Ratings:
    +35
    Thanks jock!
     
  15. johnnnnnnyy

    johnnnnnnyy

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm using one and its probably one of the best Sat wavs I've ever used. Way better than my Tom Tom, can't believe the price!
    I also use Mac, connects and updates maps etc with no problems.
     
Loading...

Share This Page