Tripod hedge cutting ladders ??? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Where we live now we have a lot of hedging. It's the typical country mixed stuff . We like it because of the abundance of wildlife it supports with numerous birds nesting in it. The downside is cutting it. We have about 150 metres to keep in shape.

Last year I did the job off a normal pair of step ladders and a newly purchased Stihl long reach cutter. The weak thing was the step ladder.

I've been looking at these ladders in the link after seeing Monty Don using one on the telly
Link.

My question is has anyone used one of these or similar ? Doesent have to be the identical one ! I'm looking for opinions and recommendations please.

Thanks !!

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
My dad used to borrow the scaffold tower from the yard and wheel it along doing 8 or 10ft at a time. much safer

Dec 11, 2011
Nr Hastings, East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail Tracker RL
Exp
since 2010
I get a local gardener to help me trim the hedges in the autumn. Last year he brought along his newly acquired tripod ladder and it was brilliant! I don't know the make that he has but each leg is adjustable and that made the job much easier.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Badknee

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 25, 2014
notloB
Funster No
MH
Vantage Neo
Exp
Living the dream.
Yes, we have one on our caravan site that's used regularly. There is usually someone holding onto it for safety though. Seems pretty stable but if your moving about up top cutting the hedge it moves a bit.

May 7, 2011
Cornwall Gorran Haven
Funster No
MH
T Line 785
Exp
motorhoming since 1979
I use one of these
Abbey Aluminium Multi-Purpose Ladder 4.7m With New Safety Platform available from amazon
Great for washing the motorhome as well as the hedge etc

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008