Free Member
Oct 16, 2019
Finchingfield
Funster No
MH
Benimar Mileo 331
Exp
1 day!
I am brand new to this hobby and although I now have my Motorhome, I'm yet to have my first adventure. Anyway, I have a 9 month old black Labrador puppy (Frank) and was thinking of putting his bed on one of the travelling, seats and clipping his harness into one of the seat belts, because being only a 6m unit I don't have room for his crate. Any hints or tips for driving with pet dogs in your MH would be very much appreciated.
Craig
57856730746__1B2AED1C-6850-4EBF-B909-FFF236964045.JPG

May 5, 2015
Sussex
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since 2010
He's a cutey!!
People do all sorts, but that sounds like a good plan, try it and see if it works, Frank will be bound to have his say!

Janine

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
A little bit left of Middle England
Funster No
MH
2006 A/S Nuevo
Exp
since 1988
He is gorgeous!

I have an even smaller van than you but I have a soft crate that fits perfectly between the bench seats.

If the seatbelt doesn’t work, it may be worth seeing if you can find enough floorspace for a crate?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
The seatbelt and a harness should work fine. We don't have any seatbelt in the back so I fitted a couple of stainless steel rings like in the photo below. I should add this photo shows the dog lead attached to it, which is useful when we stop and have the door open.

When travelling the dog has a harness clipped to a webbing strap secured to one of the rings.

DSC_0413.JPG

We used a crate for a while but the harness takes up no space and in the event of a really bad accident the dog could go though the windscreen if it doesn't also kill you on the way out. :(

Aug 20, 2019
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Pulse
Exp
Motorhoming since 2020
That's what we're going to do i think for longer journeys and she might sit in the footwell for short hops.