Free Member
Aug 16, 2011
Wales
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all, I'm looking for help if possible.
Knowing nothing at all about Motorhomes I'm looking around trying to find something suitable. Not sure at all if I'm on the right track but this is how far I've got:-
I was thinking of getting something based along the lines of Ducato/Peugeot/Citroen and had a quick look at some of the reviews of the vans that use this type of chassis. I must admit I was a bit downhearted to read so many problematic experiences so I've shifted my attention to a Transit. (I'm a Vauxhall man really)
I know they can be rust buckets, but having hired a few over the years I've always found them to be reliable and sufficiently powerful, so I was thinking of something like this:-

Link Removed

I'm not mechanical. Would this be powerful enough?
Also need clarification of the 3,500 Kg MTPLM.
Any comments or advice greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance.

Geoff

wivvy's dad

Free Member
Jun 22, 2010
Funster No
MH
Transit LWB Hi-Top PVC
Exp
On and Off since '98
That would be a more than adequate campervan conversion, at a good price and reasonable mileage for the year. That's the 125bhp Duratorq engine, and that conversion will be well within the 3500kg limit. As long as you change the engine oil every 3000 miles, that should go on for ever.

If I didn't have one already, I'd buy that.

Upvote 0

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
My opinion is that it is over priced .. the base vehicle trade value is around £2500 - £3000.

The conversion looks ok, but who by, is it a home build ? Nothing wrong with a good home conversion but they don't sell so easily nor hold their value.

Mileage suspect .. the van is 9 years old.. had three owners, the first owner would have kept for 2 -3 years and used commercial, why only 65k and can this be proved ?

I think you can do a lot better for the the same money ..