Towable 5th wheel truck for 7 passengers? (1 Viewer)

Organised4chaos

Free Member
May 10, 2018
Funster No
Hi All,

Newbie here.. and hoping I can get advice from this knowledgeable member forum. We are a family of 7 (5 children‍♂️♂️♂️♂️♀️) and have been renting long-term (past 10yrs) bcos we have to be able to move for work. Now, we want to leave and go on the road full-time (is that gasps i here..).. and having looked at the options, I'd rather not be stuck in a regular UK caravan (No good for full-time living), Motorhome (not enough space due to driving area taking up vital portion & need a vehicle to use as run around too) or trailer (worried about towing and stability issues over a hitched 5th wheeler)... We have seen a couple of all-season 5th Wheelers, and the space inside to take more than the basics is amazing.

BUT we are struggling to find a suitable vehicle that could tow an American 5th wheeler and seat 7??⛟ It would also be out off-site vehicle to get around, shopping/client meets etc.

Any thoughts/ suggestions or knowledge of a vehicle that could do the job, without putting a child or 2 in the rooftop??

Thanks so much

Oct 2, 2008
Salopia
Funster No
MH
Duro 6x6 Overlander
Exp
since 1968
You would need to be looking at this sort of vehicle , Merc , Ford , and Iveco all do similar
17809278.jpg

There are no dual cab vehicles that seat 7 in UK , even in US they have to custom build , and are not suitable for UK
main-qimg-efe9ced39dd12094f61e30acfa382a08.png

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
The Nissan Navara and Ford Ranger double cabs will seat 6 if you have the optional 3 seats in the front, but are too feeble to pull an American 5th wheeler. There are lighter British 5 wheelers available.