Tow Bars - Fixed vs. Detachable ? (1 Viewer)

Kingham

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 20, 2016
Kirkcudbright, D&G
Funster No
MH
AS Kingham 2017
Exp
Since 2009
A bit of forward planning, what are your thoughts on the pros and cons of fixed versus detachable on something as big as a PVC, where aesthetics are not really an issue.

At the moment I'm favouring a fixed bar, as it offers a little bit of rear end protection against low speed nudges and I can't think of an occasion where I would need to take the bar off. I always had fixed bars during my caravanning days, so I have no experience of any pro points of detachables.

Langtoftlad

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 12, 2011
Langtoft, South Lincs
Funster No
MH
WildAx Aurora FB [PVC]
Exp
Since 2015
Not so much a bar, nor detachable - but this is the sort of thing my PVC will have...

Citroen-Relay-van-fitted-Towbar-DanHire-Towbars-1.jpg

Eminently usable but fairly discrete.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

The2i's

Free Member
Nov 7, 2016
Appleby, Cumbria.
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
Since 2016
Unless a towball obscures a fog light or number plate, or prevents full use of, say, a drop down tail gate on some SUV's, then aesthetics is the only reason to have a detachable. Detachable towbars on vans are rarely discreet anyway, so I reckon you should go for a fixed one.

Langtoftlad

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 12, 2011
Langtoft, South Lincs
Funster No
MH
WildAx Aurora FB [PVC]
Exp
Since 2015
Have you been given a price yet ?
For the van or for the towbar :D2.
Yes - I doubt it is the cheapest option but it is the convenience as well. Collect van with all chosen kit fitted, ready to go. No taking it off the road to have a third party fit this or that sometime later & one port of call if something goes fizzle splut or clang.
PM me if you want option cost.

Geo

Trader - Funster
Jul 29, 2007
Mansfield,Notts
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Tracker FB
Exp
45 +years with breaks
as quite regular fitters of towing systems I can say