tomtom update

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by chrisgreen, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. chrisgreen

    chrisgreen Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,676
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +8,986
    just about to update my tomtom 720:Doh:
    wish me luck, im going in:cry::ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  2. Lofty

    Lofty

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Englishman in South Wales
    Ratings:
    +21
    Hope you look after my brother and sis in law in Spain!!!!!!!:RollEyes::RollEyes:
    Thanks for my card too xx::bigsmile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8,293
    Location:
    New Forest
    Ratings:
    +26,410
    Hi Chris, my 920 is essentially the same apart from route updates which I don't bother with.

    When I last updated mine I lost the ability to select different alerts for "traffic Cameras" amongst others.

    So I wish you luck ole' mate, :thumb: it worked perfectly before I updated it. If anyone knows where I've gone wrong please announce to the world what a total 'muppet' I am on here or pm me.

    ..
    .
     
  4. lesleyjean

    lesleyjean Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,211
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +2,338
    I have to say that in the not too distant past,

    I purchased a very expensive top of the range all singing Tom Tom.
    When I got home I plugged it into my computer and started to try to update maps and to see what POI's were available.

    Don't know what I done but immediately lost my speed camera POI. :cry:

    I get really annoyed with myself when I cannot sort things out for myself.:cry:

    Now I have a Tom Tom app on my iPhone and it is so easy, I just update my app and all is well.

    Very happy with this app and it has so many different features.
    Navigate to a contact, photo etc
    I love it::bigsmile:
     
  5. beachcaster

    beachcaster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    east sussex
    Ratings:
    +3,178
    Rule number 1
    never update:Smile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. chrisgreen

    chrisgreen Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,676
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +8,986
    I have got to, im fed up of driveing across field's trying to follow the tomtom:ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. tick59

    tick59 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,288
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +1,204
    :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:So I wish you luck ole' mate, it worked perfectly before I updated it. If anyone knows where I've gone wrong please announce to the world what a total 'muppet' I am on here or pm me.


    POPEYE YOU ARE A TOTAL MUPPET!!!!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. jhorsf

    jhorsf

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +8,079
    MAKE SURE you have a working backup first I know its obvious :Doh:
     
  9. Carol

    Carol Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,538
    Location:
    North Wales.
    Ratings:
    +20,512
    A couple of days ago, we at long last got around to updating our Tom Tom Go 700 which is 6 years old. We had never used the co-ordinates as we did not even know we had them.

    We phoned Tom Tom up via their web page and received so much help and patience from them they fully updated the Tom Tom for us ran through and explained everything we were not sure of. Explained to co-ordinate setting.

    They did it nearly all with out us having to do much at all nothing was to much trouble and the next day they rang us back to make sure everything was alright.

    If any one is having any problems I would not hesitate in getting in touch with them direct. Now we should be alright for next years adventures.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  10. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,486
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Ratings:
    +20,302
    I have the old 700 and cant fault it. The memory is huge and its surprising what you can put on it when you know what your doing. TomTom suport is second to none,I have the greatest of praise for them.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  11. beachcaster

    beachcaster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    east sussex
    Ratings:
    +3,178
    carol thats good to hear...........I could never even find a number let alone
    talk to someone .if you emailed them they took ages to get back.

    Sounds like a change of strategy..........to put right the one thing they used to be damned for.......so its good news.

    I do like my tom toms......... a 700 and a new XXL

    barry
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  12. Stewart J

    Stewart J Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,633
    Location:
    SW Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +1,661
    Updated my 730 making a back up first, now unusuable just cycles through some of the menu's on its own, back up didn't work its 18 months old so out of warranty and totally useless:Angry:
     
  13. champers

    champers Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,649
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +2,633
    We have a tomtom 900/910? some time ago after updating the item it went loopy loo, rang them and found them very helpful , mentioned that the cradle it sat in could have corrupted it when I updated it, they sorted it out online in terms you could understand and I received a new cradle in 1 day F.O.C. , thankfully no probs since :thumb::thumb:

    now I have jinxed myself :Doh::Doh::Doh:
    :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. Carol

    Carol Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,538
    Location:
    North Wales.
    Ratings:
    +20,512
    Ours was certainly out of warranty 6 years old, give them a ring, with your computer on and tom tom pluged in I am sure they will try and sort it out for you, if you have not set up a account set one up before you get in touch.

    Telephone number for Tom Tom 0845 161 0009
     
  15. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,131
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,437
    If like me you are a tad adverse to 0845 numbers the 'normal' one is 020 7387 5444

    Select Option 1 from the 1st menu and press 0 (zero) at the next menu when you are given options to log an issue with TomTom. You are now put through to the same menu that the 0845 number reaches.
     
  16. chrisgreen

    chrisgreen Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,676
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +8,986
    i managed my update with no issues:thumb:
    yet:ROFLMAO:
     
  17. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,486
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Ratings:
    +20,302
    My 700 was about 6 years old when I connected it to a non TomTom charger and blew it up. I contacted TomTom and they sent a package to put it in to send back to them. I expected a serious bill for repairs but was surprised and delighted when a brand new TomTom arrived FOC. Cant fault them at all.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
Loading...

Share This Page