Free Member
Sep 26, 2018
new forest
Funster No
MH
Sold it!
Exp
I'm a newbie
Is there any way of telling if the timing belt on my Ducato MH has recently been replaced

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Unless you have paperwork to support a change of belt it bought it from new there’s no way of knowing.

Personally I’d get it changed if in doubt.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
wotme

wotme

Free Member
Sep 26, 2018
new forest
Funster No
MH
Sold it!
Exp
I'm a newbie
Okay put it this way, if you bought a motorhome from a dealer and up until the time of collection there was no mention of any remedial work required apart from a service and an MOT would you accept that the cam belt was changed as a matter of course. The paperwork does indeed state the belt having been changed but don't you think they would have given me the option to have the water pump replaced which normally is something that goes hand in glove. I should not be doubting there word as they are a reputable dealer but I was hoping there might be some external signs that would confirm the work being done

Aug 18, 2014
Lorca,Murcia,Spain
Funster No
MH
Transit PVC
Exp
16 years since restarting
Okay put it this way, if you bought a motorhome from a dealer and up until the time of collection there was no mention of any remedial work required apart from a service and an MOT would you accept that the cam belt was changed as a matter of course. The paperwork does indeed state the belt having been changed but don't you think they would have given me the option to have the water pump replaced which normally is something that goes hand in glove. I should not be doubting there word as they are a reputable dealer but I was hoping there might be some external signs that would confirm the work being done