Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-remove-a-tick/

I saw this some years ago, never had much success with a tick removal tool cant seem to get it in and under, but this really works, tried it a few times on Lola. Really good if you find one when you haven't got the tool handy

Put your finger on the back of the tick and very gently press, then rotate in a very small circle, as it says like you are trying to make it giddy

The tick just retracts and you can lift off :)(y)

Hope the link works, I am not good at copying video links o_O

CWH

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 29, 2014
UK
Funster No
MH
WildAx PVC
Exp
From November 2013
That's really useful David, thanks.

A couple of important points (for anyone who doesn't read right to the end) are:

"Once you have the tick out, wrap the tick in a piece of tape to kill it."

"If you're taking it off yourself or another person, you probably want to put it in a jar of rubbing alcohol and get it tested for Lyme disease."

jumartoo

Funster
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 19, 2015
Alhama de Murcia, Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp
Since 1994
If you get a rash at the site of the tick, get tested.

Lyme disease, Martin's been there!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Nov 18, 2011
Planet Earth
Funster No
MH
A van
Exp
Over 25 year's
Just put sum after shave on a bit of cotton wool put it over the wee beste
For abut 10 min and it will let go and drop off any strong alcohol will do
It's all I have ever used.
Methylated spirits surgical spirits
Even alcohol based deodorant
Never used a tool in my life ether on dogs cats or human
It was a old vet told me that trick many years ago
Bill

CWH

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 29, 2014
UK
Funster No
MH
WildAx PVC
Exp
From November 2013
I don't tend to carry after-shave around with me though, Bill :whistle:

Nov 18, 2011
Planet Earth
Funster No
MH
A van
Exp
Over 25 year's
That's really useful David, thanks.