Through France to North East Spain and return November/December 2017 (1 Viewer)

Newtourer

Free Member
Oct 13, 2017
Staffordshire
Funster No
MH
Bessacar E460
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi,
We have just bought our first motorhome and intend to set off through France to Spain for a bit of winter sun. We have toured France and Spain for several years but never in a motorhome or at this time of year. We will probably cross to Dunkirk or Dieppe and then head south via Rouen, Chartres, Orleans, Limoges, Toulouse, Carcassonne and Perpignan. We do not want to stay in these cities rather stay in smaller places close to the route. I'm finding it difficult to locate touring sites that are open this time of year. My wife is concerned about using Aires but if the need arises then so be it. Can anyone suggest any good sites en-route (or just off) and perhaps approximately four hours drive apart ?
Sorry about the length of this post but any help would be most appreciated.
Kind regards.

May 7, 2011
Cornwall Gorran Haven
Funster No
MH
T Line 785
Exp
motorhoming since 1979
Hi @Newtourer ,
You could try the aire at La Chapelle St Mesmin ,it's an old municipal campsite. cost 6 euro's , incl water and ehu. A bit basic no toilets or any frills at all , entrance through a barrier very easy . It's just west of Orleans about 5 miles.
Also 4 hrs from Calais approx, is La Mailleraye sur Seine aire again , 6 euro's lovely riverside aire where you can watch the river traffic from large barges to a small cruise ship and hotel boats , nice little town / village . It also avoids Rouen.
Terry

May 12, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
Hymer
Parc Verger South of Limoges. Always assured of a warm welcome.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
If you do stop at any sites make sure they are in towns and not at side of motorways.

Enjoy your trip and welcome to fun.

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH