Thetford N3150 not cooling on gas (1 Viewer)

Evildoody

Free Member
Jul 6, 2017
Aberdeen
Funster No
MH
CI Mizar Living GTL
Exp
Super Geek
Hi all,

Hoping one of you can help or steer me in the right direction

I have a Thetford N3150 that is not cooling whilst running on gas, cools fine on 12V and 240V and the van is level.
Everything seems to work, e.g. the AES selects gas and the burner lights and there are no error codes on the fridge LCD. What I have noticed is that the burner seems to go off anywhere between 15 seconds and 2 minutes after being lit, I hear the gas valve solenoid click and the gas instantly relights. The flame is blue but seems weak in my opinion (it might not be though as I am no expert).

burner.jpg

I used some compressed air to blow the burner and up the flue, but both seemed pretty clean.

The gas cooker and water boiler are all working ok and I have plenty of gas, so am at a total loss as to what the issue can be. To make it worse I am away to a festival on Wednesday (warm beer for me I guess) :swear:

OP
OP
Evildoody

Evildoody

Free Member
Jul 6, 2017
Aberdeen
Funster No
MH
CI Mizar Living GTL
Exp
Super Geek
Another quick question, the gas pipe fitting that is fitted to the main gas pipe and goes into the fridge gas solenoid valve has a small piece of sponge in it, I was thinking perhaps this is clogged. But I for the life of me cannot find a replacement gas filter or replacement pipe! - Are these custom made?

drawing.jpg

I noticed if I tap the gas solenoid with a screwdriver the burner flame goes out and reignites - not exactly sure why I tapped it, but not sure if this is normal behaviour either :)

Last edited:
Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
We had a problem like that with ours I noticed we used to be able to hear the burner quite clearly but it had become almost silent so swapped the burner for a new one and sorted. The old one had some white deposits on it

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements