Thetford N150 Fridge Fault code 9 HELP!

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by DP_JAY, Apr 24, 2014.

  1. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Getting ready for peterborough & just found fridge not working on gas.
    Gas is getting to fridge & it lights straight away but the igniter keeps ticking until it then goes out. Display is showing fault code 9 which is "Gas lockout because flame fails to ignite".
    Has all the symptoms of a thermocouple failure but I can't see one anywhere?
    Anyone KNOW how the flame sensing works?
     
  2. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    just spoken to Thetford & they tell me the igniter electrode acts as a thermocouple?:Eeek:

    More electrickery:Angry: I hate electronics:Angry::Angry:

    They also tell me it's more likely the "power board" thats faulty:Angry::Angry:

    Anybody know who has the spares?
     
  3. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Leisure spares at Boroughbridge have the parts so it's looking like a detour in the morning to collect them. It must be a common fault because when I said about getting them in the morning they said "If you want a board keeping you'll have to order it now as we've only got 5 left:Rofl1::Rofl1:When I said you won't sell all them by tomorrow they said " the last 6 phone calls have all been for that card:Eeek:
     
  4. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,351
    Likes Received:
    8,113
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Take the cover off your burner and make sure it all the slots are clear.

    Ours gets dirty at the igniter end causing the same fault!:BigGrin:
     
  5. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Thanks, done that,the igniter is roughly in the middle & all the slots are clear & burning correctly.
     
  6. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,351
    Likes Received:
    8,113
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Looks like it might be the igniter/thermocouple or board.:cry:

    If you are still coming to Peterborough, I have the diagnostic procedures printed out in the van.
     
  7. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Thanks for that, turns out it was the spark electrode (£9), seems it does act as a thermocouple but I dont get how?

    Many thanks to leisurespares.co.uk, very helpful.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2014
  8. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,351
    Likes Received:
    8,113
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Had a code 9 tonight!!!!!!

    To answer your question, the sensing is done by flame rectification!
    Apparently, AC current is passed down the igniter which then arcs to the burner body. When the flame is burning, a resistance occurs which blocks the AC current in one direction.
    When this happens, the power board now knows the flame is present and the fridge operates normally.
    Tonight, on ours, the fault turned out to be a dodgy connection from the burner to the frame of the fridge, which is all negative.
    Simply loosening and tightening the burner retaining screw fixed the fault.

    Now sitting here feeling quite chuffed to have found the problem after removing and cleaning all connections on the power board!
     
  9. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    2,659
    Location:
    leicester
    We are in France at the moment and ours has packed in today 30 degrees!!!!!. It was flashing on the display and kept going back to mains no matter what wa selected despite the fact we were not on mains!! I phoned thetford she said to press all 3 butons together it then indicated 2 and 5 bar which she saidwas the power board. Liz says the past couple of days it had shown ED BATTERY LIGHT WHICH IS NOW ON IS THERE A BATTERY ON THE POWER BOARD WHICH ONLY CHARGES ON MAINS!!! (sorry abot the captals there by mistake and getting late/hot/pissed off) orgot to say thetford 3000
     
Loading...

Share This Page