The Roads in the UK - and Life in General… (1 Viewer)

JackieP

Free Member
Mar 10, 2010
Isle of Man
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2006
Coming from the comparative isolation of those massive roads in Spain that bring you to the border of France and then a month of pootling around France on country, often, single track roads, it's a hell of a shock to drive out of Folkestone docks straight onto the motorway into nose to tail hell.

I spent a leisurely yesterday at the P+R at Canterbury and in the city reacquainting myself with fish and chips, avoiding Costa coffee (the McDonalds of the coffee world it would seem) and marvelling that I could speak to people without the need for a dictionary and hand signals.

Destination north and eventually Liverpool for the boat back to the Island on Monday and I decide to take the M25 and the Dartford crossing before taking the smaller, quieter roads.

I knew it would be busy so I did something I've never done before - I set the alarm for 3.50 am and left Canterbury (very quietly) at just after 4am this morning.

I thought the roads would be empty but no, they were absolutely bouncing and, by the time I passed the Dartford crossing and headed on the M25 ring road, the lorries and cars were almost at a standstill on the opposite carriageway coming into London.

This was about 5am in the morning and the roads were packed with people starting their day. God only knows what it must be like at 9am.

I've never thought of myself as a good driver but today as I was changing lanes and bringing overtaken and undertaken by eighteen wheelers and keeping my cool I did suddenly realise that I'm not so bad after all - so it was a good lesson for me.

But really, what is happening to us on this Island - all this rushing and congestion and having a life where you have to get up at four in the morning just to get to work on time. For it it was a choice but I really felt for those on the other side.