The first step...how long and which direction...? (1 Viewer)

zen navigator

Free Member
Mar 27, 2009
Manchester
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
I am in Manchester travelling to France. As this is my first time to France. I am not sure how long it will take me to travel to the Chunnel \ Dover. But I am guessing 6 - 7 hours. ::bigsmile:riving2:Slightly less for the Chunnel or I am misguided :whatthe:

2 hours for the crossing :helptitanic: and I am on the other side, which 9 - 10 hour day. I am guessing I will be ready some 'Egyptian PT' .

So start at night to get in France bright and early, but knackered or normal start to get there at the end of the day and a desperate drive to find a bed for the night :whatthe:

Also I guess an unsocial departure time at the port = cheaper crossing :thumb:

I am flying solo, co-pilot hasn't got her wings :winky:

Anybody got any thoughts on this matter?

Dave

haganap

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2007
planet earth
Funster No
MH
Carthago C Tourer
Exp
I'm an oldbie MH number 9
Hi ya Zen, we only live down the road from you and go to France at least twice a year.

Our experience is that it takes us around the 5-5.5 hour mark to the port.
Trust me that's a long drive (especially home) so we tend to do the following.

We set off at lunch time on a leisurely drive, we M40, to avoid the Datford crossing and go anti clockwise on the car park (M25) .

Arrive at Dover and get a ferry, or sleep on the sea front. We have found it best to get accross the water and then park up on Calais aire or drive 20+ miles to a few aires we know.

Sleep well, awake, shake dreams from your head and cruise on down to where your going.

This way you are awake and refreshed to start your holiday.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
we allow 7 hours from scarborough to dover but we have to contend with the wonderful A64, which can mean 1.5 hours just to get to the A1 (50miles):Sad: