That tunnel fing.... (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
looking at doing Dover Calais this year so the dog doesent have to stay alone in the van for too long.

Or suggestions please for a clean easy route to get us over the water. Dover is a real pain for us travelling from the midlands so maybe the tunnel ain't the best ? We would like to do the war graves this time so places near there would be better.

Hi Fanks Thee.

Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
The tunnels a pain for us too living in Leicester but I like to get all the bad roads out of the way at the start the crossing is a good break (we made coffee to go with the sarnies on the train just before turning the gas off) and you would be in the best starting spot when you arrive.

Riverbankannie

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 11, 2016
Bristol
Funster No
MH
IH 630 RL PVC
Exp
If you don't want to go to Dover and the shorter crossings, or the tunnel, then you could try Newhaven Dieppe. The crossing time is shorter than Portsmouth Caen and, as recently posted, 20% off for over 60s

However, having recently used the tunnel, I think the journey from Bristol maybe quicker to Folkestone than to Newhaven. We try to pick our timing on the M25 and find that going over on a Sunday makes for an easier journey.
Are you going to Normandy graves or WW1?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

May 7, 2011
Cornwall Gorran Haven
Funster No
MH
T Line 785
Exp
motorhoming since 1979
We now only use the tunnel , so far never had a problem with M25 , motorway all the way from portsmouth 3 hrs +stop for dog . SIMPLES !!!!

Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
The dog is our main reason for wanting a short crossing. There was a thread on today looking for a frequent traveller sharer.

Ridgeway

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 10, 2012
Lausanne
Funster No
MH
NiBi Arto 85E
Exp
Since 2012