T minus 21 and counting!! (1 Viewer)

May 23, 2020
Funster No
MH
CI Riviera 171
Exp
-21 days
Hi Folks, newbie here so please be gentle!
As an avid camper enjoying being under canvas with kids, dogs oh and the wife! For the first 50 years of my life. I decided to take the plunge and trade up!!

I've have just purchased my first MH, a 2006 CI Riviera 171. I got it from JMT leisure near W-S-M. I pick it up in 3 weeks so starting to get excited about it ( really needed something to focus on and not Covid).

I have a HGV so not worried about the driving it's just learning the rest of it, how to be a good MH'er.

I've been told to get brit stops and just get out there but looking forward to reading the forums to understand how the heck I do things..right first time!

Appreciate any advice on my choice of MH and what to look out for, need to fit a telly and would like to fit some sort of exterior dog shower( 2 cocker spaniels part of the gang but no kids now!!)

Well I'm sure I'll be posting questions already answered so will do my best to search and read up first.

Well I'll sign off before this becomes war and peace.

#be kind

Good to be here!
Adam

mikebeaches

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 22, 2010
Bristol
Funster No
MH
Rapido V68 Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2009
Hi and :welcome3: Adam!

Hope you'll enjoy your new van.

Probably one of the first things to be aware of is how much stuff (weight) you can carry about. Check the plated GVW - probably 3,500kg, but may be more? Then weigh the van with all your essential stuff in and you and any passengers, to see if you are within the required limit. And from there you can adjust accordingly either adding more stuff if you've got spare weight capacity, or chucking stuff out if you're over.

Strictly speaking, you should weigh each axle also to ensure neither of those are overloaded - again the limits will be on the plate.

Anyway, have a great time! (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

mikebeaches

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 22, 2010