Switching 12v sockets

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by TheDeckKing, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. TheDeckKing

    TheDeckKing Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Hyde, Cheshire
    Our Baz has 2 of these fitted

    Screenshots_2014-10-10-22-03-51.png
    I've got nothing to plug into them so was thinking it would be much more useful if we had a few usb sockets for our various gadgets.
    Has anyone got any ideas for doing this. Everything I can find so far is for plugging into a cigar lighter socket.
     
  2. RS_rob

    RS_rob Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    Turnford
    I did find some fixed wired USB sockets on eBay a few years ago but I dont have the links anymore.

    I dont personally recognize that socket as most normally have to parallel slots
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. RS_rob

    RS_rob Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    Turnford
  4. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    1,867
    Location:
    Essex
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,351
    Likes Received:
    8,113
    Location:
    Norfolk
  6. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,000
    Likes Received:
    18,128
    Location:
    notloB
    Some good finds there funsters.
     
  7. TheDeckKing

    TheDeckKing Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Hyde, Cheshire
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    9,371
    Likes Received:
    33,876
    Location:
    Lancaster
    They put them in tugs and boats many years ago, and you can still buy the plugs for them. Mostly for B&W TV connections, they wont take loads of amps.
     
  9. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,351
    Likes Received:
    8,113
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I think you can get the frames in a bronze colour if that helps.
     
  10. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,386
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
  11. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,260
    Likes Received:
    3,096
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales
    I fitted a couple of these in my Hymer, works for me(y)
     
  12. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,260
    Likes Received:
    3,096
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales
    Pity that screw is through the middle of your old sockets as you could have just drilled the right size hole and fitted one of these in the middle:rolleyes:
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,501
    Likes Received:
    18,189
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Unfortunately that item is 230vac input, not 12vdc....but im tempted so i can get rid of a few usb chargers at home and free up the sockets.

    Thanks for the link.
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,501
    Likes Received:
    18,189
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  15. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,386
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    eaby traders often push the price to ridiculous levels when they are out of stock its some thing to do with the way ebay charge them for listing a new item
     
Loading...

Share This Page