Swelling around the sink (1 Viewer)

Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
I know this is just a little thing but has anyone got any advice on how to best preserve the work surfaces around the sink?

On one side our work surface has risen up about 3mm and there has obviously been some small amounts of water getting in there - see pics...

What's the best way to try and restore this? Is there a way to get any moisture out from that gap and to get the work surface to drop back down again?

Does this just need a run of clear sealant - or do we need to do something else?

Many thanks,

Andy

Attachments

• IMG_5352.JPG
    IMG_5352.JPG
    25.1 KB · Views: 75
  • IMG_5353.JPG
    IMG_5353.JPG
    38.4 KB · Views: 75

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Very difficult to get it flat again. You would need to take the sink out then you may be able to brush some glue or expoyresin into the gaps then clamp it very firmly along the complete length, using several clamps and a lenth of timber on each side preferably hardwood as it is more ridged. Don't fortget to mask the surafce well first. Then recoat the edges with an epoxy resin.

Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 A Class
Exp
Since 2015
Once it's swollen there's no realistic way back I'm afraid

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
I would bodge it with some clear sealant then use a plastic basin all the time ant other fix will be a lot more complicated and probably still not work.

OP
OP
A
Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
I would bodge it with some clear sealant then use a plastic basin all the time ant other fix will be a lot more complicated and probably still not work.
Thanks. I just dont want to seal any moisure in. Is there a way to avoid doing that?

Jan 8, 2013