Struggling to charge more than 80% with Solar? (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Oct 30, 2016
1,519
3,015
Colchester
Funster No
45,854
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
We are still in the uk, getting ready to head south next week, but just noticed that we are struggling to get to more than low 80's currently on Solar (246AH Gel & 470w of solar) as it then switches to "float" on a very low trickle charge, previously not had a problem getting to 100%

I assume this is normal, with the low sun taking longer to work through the bulk and absorption stages, and then only a couple of hours once it gets to float, which is not long enough to fully charge?
 

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
54,869
156,947
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
658
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Gels need at least 4 hours preferably longer on absorbtion phase to get fully charged, difficult to achieve outside summer months in the UK.
What solar regulator/controller do you have.?
 
OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
1,519
3,015
Colchester
Funster No
45,854
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
I think the default on Gel is 4 hr absorbtion maybe it's gone faulty, maybe worth checking the setings.
Thank Lenny, I would have no idea about this I have left it on the default setting for gel, but by changing to user defined it provides more info, is there anything here worth changing, or leave it till we get to sunnier climes and see how it goes?
1666963253389.png

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 
Dec 31, 2010
2,738
6,090
Sunny South Shields
Funster No
14,797
MH
Frankia Platin i7900
Exp
Since 2010
Thank Lenny, I would have no idea about this I have left it on the default setting for gel, but by changing to user defined it provides more info, is there anything here worth changing, or leave it till we get to sunnier climes and see how it goes?
View attachment 682221
You should set it to the pre set for Gels you have adaptive set and absorption at 6h try the preset it should work fine
 
OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
1,519
3,015
Colchester
Funster No
45,854
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
You should set it to the pre set for Gels you have adaptive set and absorption at 6h try the preset it should work fine
By default it is set to position 2, as below which has adaptive and 6hr by default I think the only way to chnage this is to switch to user defined?

What benefit would reducing from 6 to 4 hours have, wouldn't that then go into float sooner?

1666963678781.png
 
OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
1,519
3,015
Colchester
Funster No
45,854
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
Don't use the rotary switch use the battery pre sets
I have switched to preset 1, rather than 2, I think the settings are the same as the rotary (but easier to change)

Will see if that works, thanks for your help.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 
Dec 31, 2010
2,738
6,090
Sunny South Shields
Funster No
14,797
MH
Frankia Platin i7900
Exp
Since 2010
It should stay in Bulk untill the battery hits 14.3v then absorption for 6hrs according to the preset then float at 13.8v, you might not reach it in a days cycle but you should see a gradual increase in capacity each day as long as your not using more than you are putting in.
 
OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
1,519
3,015
Colchester
Funster No
45,854
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
It should stay in Bulk untill the battery hits 14.3v then absorption for 6hrs according to the preset then float at 13.8v, you might not reach it in a days cycle but you should see a gradual increase in capacity each day as long as your not using more than you are putting in.
Currently apart from about 0.4a draw, we are not using it, it just seems to get to about 80% then goes into slow mode, currently on 13.72v and float, so never seems to get a chance at the moment with the low sun?
 
Dec 31, 2010
2,738
6,090
Sunny South Shields
Funster No
14,797
MH
Frankia Platin i7900
Exp
Since 2010
Currently apart from about 0.4a draw, we are not using it, it just seems to get to about 80% then goes into slow mode, currently on 13.72v and float, so never seems to get a chance at the moment with the low sun?
How do you know it's at 80% ? 13.72v is full according to the float voltage
 
OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
1,519
3,015
Colchester
Funster No
45,854
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
How do you know it's at 80% ? 13.72v is full according to the float voltage
I am taking the reading off the display in the van, currently at 82%, I do wonder if it has just "glitched" and showing 82% when actually it is full, as I can't believe with 470w of solar and a parked van even with the low sun we can't get to 100%
 
Dec 31, 2010
2,738
6,090
Sunny South Shields
Funster No
14,797
MH
Frankia Platin i7900
Exp
Since 2010
I am taking the reading off the display in the van, currently at 82%, I do wonder if it has just "glitched" and showing 82% when actually it is full, as I can't believe with 470w of solar and a parked van even with the low sun we can't get to 100%
You could try plugging in and using your charger and see if it puts anymore in ?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 

bigtwin

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 29, 2009
5,408
10,293
Derby
Funster No
9,111
MH
Concorde
Exp
Since 2006
How much current are the batteries accepting?

If the tail current is down to circa 2% then you can consider the batteries fully charged. At that point you need to perform a synchronisation to reset the SoC to 100%.

Ian
 
OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
1,519
3,015
Colchester
Funster No
45,854
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
It goes down to about 1a, do I think we must be full. Will try on ehu, otherwise no idea how to synchronise the soc, manuals are French translations on line....
 

bigtwin

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 29, 2009
5,408
10,293
Derby
Funster No
9,111
MH
Concorde
Exp
Since 2006
If the suns shining and it’s only accepting 1A from 470W solar then i’d say it’d be fair to assume that they’re fully charged and the issue is that your SoC indication is out.

Ian
 
OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
1,519
3,015
Colchester
Funster No
45,854
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
Just tried ehu, still only taking 0.3a now, so assume fully charged.
Apart from being annoying presumably the soc being wrong won't affect anything?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 

bigtwin

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 29, 2009
5,408
10,293
Derby
Funster No
9,111
MH
Concorde
Exp
Since 2006
Just tried ehu, still only taking 0.3a now, so assume fully charged.
Apart from being annoying presumably the soc being wrong won't affect anything?

No, it’s there only to mislead you. 😎

However, if you can google the synchronisation instructions it‘d be worthwhile then it’ll mislead you only a little bit. 👍

Ian
 
Dec 31, 2010
2,738
6,090
Sunny South Shields
Funster No
14,797
MH
Frankia Platin i7900
Exp
Since 2010
Just tried ehu, still only taking 0.3a now, so assume fully charged.
Apart from being annoying presumably the soc being wrong won't affect anything?
Spend some of that retirement fund and invest in a smartshunt 😂 I never use the soc on the van control panel.
 
OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
1,519
3,015
Colchester
Funster No
45,854
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
Spend some of that retirement fund and invest in a smartshunt 😂 I never use the soc on the van control panel.
I probably will, but the "guessometer" has always been good enough.
 

Join us or log in to post a reply.

To join in you must be a member of MotorhomeFun

Join MotorhomeFun

Join us, it quick and easy!

Log in

Already a member? Log in here.

Latest journal entries

Funsters who are viewing this thread

Back
Top