Sterilising the fresh water tank (1 Viewer)

Suesouthern

Free Member
Jul 18, 2020
Funster No
MH
Pilote G600
Exp
I’m a newbie
Hi all, another daft newbie question. We currently empty our fresh water tank after every trip and then refill with fresh water. How often should we sterilise the fresh water tank ? What should we use and how do you actually do it ? Sorry for the layers of this question Sue

Oct 6, 2019
Funster No
MH
Carthago
Exp
Since 2017
We drink from our tank, empty after every trip. The only thing I do is descale the boiler and flush the system through with white wine vinegar once a year.
What concentration do you use please Lenny ?

Upvote 0
Aug 15, 2014
Exiled in Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Pilote 600L
Exp
Since 2006
Citric acid crystals bought from Wilko, empty into the fresh water tank then go for a 20 min drive at the start of the season then leave it for 2 hours.
Drain via the taps into the waste tank, leave another 2 hours then drain into the gully at home.
3 jobs for the price of one, always use bottled water for drinking though, each to their own (y)

Upvote 0

Tircoeds

Free Member
Aug 29, 2020
Wales mun ;-)
Funster No
MH
Sprinter 313 Cdi
Exp
A really stupid question now then, if I were to add some cleaning agent ( white vinegar etc ), how on earth would I get it into the water system. I have an inlet into the van which I connect to a hozelock type fitting .?

Upvote 0
Aug 15, 2014
Exiled in Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Pilote 600L
Exp
Since 2006
Depends on what van you have l suppose, l can access my fresh water tank as it is under a settee.
Perhaps best to say what make of van you own (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging