Staying in Europe longer than 90 days without a visa (1 Viewer)

Originalsmoothie

Free Member
Jun 15, 2016
Southam
Funster No
MH
Hymer B754
Exp
I'm a newbie
My American wife Cynthia thinks she may have found a solution to staying in the Schengan group of countries for longer than 90 days. Here's what she's found on a French consulate website...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

American family members of european passport holders

Please note that you do not need any visa to enter and live in France for longer than 3 months if :

puce-32883.gif
you hold a valid U.S. passport

puce-32883.gif
and you are the legal spouse (marriage certificate) or child (under 18y.o.) of a citizen of the above listed countries

puce-32883.gif
and you are accompanying your spouse / parent who is also moving to France.

However, you will have to apply for the residence permit ("carte de séjour pour membre de famille d’un ressortissant européen") within 2 months of entry into France, at the Préfecture of city of residence. Note that it is always advisable to contact the Préfecture BEFORE leaving the U.S., in order to get a complete list of documents to provide to apply for such permit.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am concerned about the final paragraph. How do motorhome owners deal with this as they are not in a full time residence? Any ideas?

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
I don't think the problem is travelling around the Schengen countries, I don't think anyone is too bothered. The paragraphs you quote seem to be about living in France, not touring/visiting.