status ariel replacement

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by jack, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. jack

    jack

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Teeside
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am considering changing my bog standard status ariel for one that actually works,
    and is digital friendly,is ::bigsmile:it straight forward and which one do folks advise..?
     
  2. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,463
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Ratings:
    +6,107
  3. jack

    jack

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Teeside
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Peter, maybe I am trying to pick up digital signals where there are none , we do tend to aim for wilderness places,perhaps I should hang fire until it becomes
    more widespread.
     
  4. pieterv

    pieterv

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Lichfield, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I vaguelly remember reading somewhere that, when the digital switch over is completed, the signal strength will be turned up.

    That might make the Status arials more useable.

    Anyone know anything more about this?
     
  5. Pugboxter

    Pugboxter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Ratings:
    +0
    The signal strength from the main transmitters has indeed been increased, not sure about the relay ones though. The trouble with digital is that you either have a strong enough signal to receive a picture or don't, unlike analog where you could still get a picture even when the signal is weak.

    I've no experience of the round status aerial on digital, but it was really poor on analog.

    This post may be of interest http://www.motorhomefun.co.uk/tv-satellite/24619-tv-aerial.html#post296416
     
  6. andyman

    andyman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +705
    I have a Status flying saucer and almost useless. I also have an Image 630 which is similar to the Status 530 except that it is bracket mounted, never failed me yet.
    Go for a status 530 and I dont think you will be disapointed.

    Andy
     
  7. Terry

    Terry Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,897
    Location:
    South yorks
    Ratings:
    +7,030
    hi I have the status 530/5- straight forward to fit -drill hole about 30 mm then 3 or 4 screws all sealed with sikaflex type sealant :thumb:

    the 530/5 is the short pole one - into a overhead cupboard and the 530/10 is the long pole version that fits into a wardrobe :thumb:
    terry
     
  8. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,746
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +1,727
    Not had any probs with digital on the status directionals...sometimes you can be in a dodgy area which will give you bad or no reception, and for that we have the portable sat dish which suckers onto the roof.
     
  9. 747

    747

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Ratings:
    +0
    My van came with the flying saucer attached and the reception from it has gone from rubbish to passable in a short time. I believe it will be a good aerial in 18 months time when everywhere is digital. I have a directional aerial, bought from Screwfix as a back up at the moment.

    My Status was decapitated by a low branch near Newbury recently. I had to cut the coax to get it down. At home, I cut it open, soldered a new cable on and glued it back together. It still worked when leaning over at a crazy angle which was surprising.

    There is something to be said for a permanent aerial fitted to a van. No setting up poles and searching for signals on site. It is a pity there are so many tree branches about though.:Sad:
     
  10. jack

    jack

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Teeside
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys,I will wait for digital to take over the world.:thumb:
     
  11. Pugboxter

    Pugboxter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Ratings:
    +0
    No need to wait, just go to somewhere that is already digital and see if you can get a decent picture :Smile:
     
Loading...

Share This Page