status 540

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by gpz, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. gpz

    gpz Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    how is the best way to get a good signal from my status 540 aerial is there any technical piece off kit to tune it in
     
  2. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15,057
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +21,704
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15,057
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +21,704
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    35,085
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +33,285
    You are pointing it exactly at the transmitter mast arent you ?
    And you do have it set to the correct polarity for the mast ?
     
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    31,172
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +42,424
    Yup.

    Eyeballs.

    Just look around as you near your destination and see where the aerials are pointing. And note horizontal or vertical.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. camocam1

    camocam1

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Elgin,Moray,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +784
    if you have an iphone you can download a signal finder which shows you where to point the arial and if vertical or horizontal but as hilldweller say just have a look where others are pointed (assuming there are other vans)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. PORKSTER

    PORKSTER Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,723
    Location:
    Sussex coast
    Ratings:
    +4,165
    A few apps available I use one very good its called aerial alignment
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    31,172
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +42,424
    And houses !
     
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15,057
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +21,704
    I was on Hebden bridge CC site recently and thought I'd try the aerial as a back up as many pitches cannot get SAT.
    I set it up with the status signal finder and all was good, then I looked at the caravans around me and every aerial was pointing in a different direction :ROFLMAO: clearly they haven't got meters
     
  10. gpz

    gpz Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanks for the replys guys i will try one off those inline meters
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice