Status 530 fitting

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Techno, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,370
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,779
    Just covering the less detailed instructions for you , pictures always tell a better story

    Beware of wires! always drill from inside and remove the inner skin & filling before drilling the outer skin.
    These will just push aside when installing mast sleeve
    [​IMG]
    position base so holes will miss any wires
    [​IMG]
    drill pilot holes for screws ( the 3 short ones supplied were just a bit too short so I replaced them )
    [​IMG]
    Fit the cover and gaiter using the 3 long screws provided
    [​IMG]
    view inside
    [​IMG]
    Angle adjustment fitting is still used regardless. Mine has a flat roof so fitted to suit
    [​IMG]
    tighten up the screw collar and drive in the screws
    [​IMG]
    Fit the mast through the roof and fit the locknut inside
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like it Like it x 8
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,551
    Nice one. I'm glad ours came with a 530 aerial fitted though. I wouldn't fancy putting a big hole in the roof like that ::bigsmile:
     
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,370
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,779
    I've drilled so many and without anaesthetic :Eeek: :thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. chrisgreen

    chrisgreen Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,676
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +8,964
    a very neat and tidy job:thumb:but i would only let a pro to do mine:Doh::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,107
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,169
    thats one extremely neat cupboard installation you have there :thumb:
     
  6. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,370
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,779
    Cheers John
    5 amps under load today too :Cool:
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,107
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,169
    what are you running on the 'aux load' terminals ?

    signal booster box ?
     
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,370
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,779
    The Status amplifier
    [​IMG]
     
  9. dug

    dug Funster

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +36
    I see you've got the spare(bulb bit)on the solar controller going to the vision plus how does this work at night?i thought it was just spare volts from the sun, and does this mean i can cut off the big 12v adapter that goes from my vision plus to my invertor,and just use the same as yours.ie direct to 12volts via a fuse.?
    I was going to try and post a photo,but after seeing the quality of your work mine lookes like a monkey has been let loose with screwdriver!!!!:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
    Thanks for a clear and concise How to......Dug:thumb:
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,107
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,169
    the 'aux load' terminals are a regulated output from the batteries for accessories Dug.

    only a small load can be applied...just 1 or 2amps load
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,370
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,779
    The load terminals (bulb symbol) will carry the regulator rated current. Mine will carry 20amps
    during the day it will take power from solar or solar and battery. At night from battery only.
    The regulator(most do) has a voltage cut off to prevent the battery being over discharged, usually a little over 11volts.
    Just need to be sure that the wiring between regulator and battery will carry the load.
    I always wire direct to battery (4mm minimum) so avoids using existing converter wiring
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
  12. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,370
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,779
    The "Really Useful Box" left in picture houses my auto changeover RELAY rather than humming contactor I used to have.
    I'm not often on hook up so not had chance to prove it works OK yet but works fine in N/C position feeding 3 of my 230volt sockets from my 350watt sterling pure sine inverter.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,370
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,779
    Could a mod move this to TVnSatellite pleez? and delete this post at the coming together :thumb:
     
  14. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8,246
    Location:
    New Forest
    Ratings:
    +25,982
    That's a change in tune Chris, two weeks ago you were not going to let the pro's do a job, you talked of setting up on your own, just to save a few quid..........

    ...........a super job there, nothing does as good a job as a gifted amateur and lets face it we are talking professional or amateur here not expert versus cowboy.

    .....not sure that all makes sense what I mean is I'd rather have a gifted amateur than a professional cowboy......ah balls you know what I mean:roflmto:
     
  15. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +8,079
    Techno really useful clear pictures thanks
     
  16. chrisgreen

    chrisgreen Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,676
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +8,964
    i was being sarcastic!:Doh:
     
  17. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8,246
    Location:
    New Forest
    Ratings:
    +25,982
    No, surely. Not you Chris..........:Smile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
Loading...

Share This Page