Static van lpg cooker (1 Viewer)

Dec 12, 2020
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi folks I'm midway through my self build conversation and have been looking at cookers. My wife wants a full size cooker. My question is I have been offered a nearly new 50cm lpg cooker from my friend who is scraping their static I realize that the ignition system is 240v and not 12v. Is this the only difference between touring band and static vans if so could I install one in my campervan and either convert it to 12v or use the 240 as I'm installing a invertor along with solar panels.

Is it that simple or am I missing something any help and suggestions would be much appreciated

ManTheVan

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 11, 2020
South Devon, UK
Funster No
MH
Rapido C class
Exp
Yottie convert
If you do install it I think you’ll be elected chef for any meets!

Serioisly, I can’t see why it wouldn’t work, apart from taking up a heck of a lot of extra room, but I wouldn’t bother with connecting the 240v. Just use a gas igniter or gas lighter. We did this on the boat for year ps with no problem.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Tonydom
Dec 12, 2020
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have been looking at the dimensions of the cooker in question against a spinflo/Thetford full caravan cooker it's been sold in Argos for £179 it's the Bush AG56SB Free Standing 50cm 4 Hob Single Gas Cooker and the the Bush one is only 10cm deeper than purposes built caravan cookers but around £320 cheaper I'm trying to find out the weight difference

OP
OP
Tonydom
Dec 12, 2020
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
Just found the weight 36.5 kilos for Bush oven

Dec 12, 2010
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
since 2011
I Don't know what the build quality is like on the cooker from the ststic, but do you think it will stand up to the bumps and vibration of travelling in a moho ?

Jun 29, 2015
Southampton
Funster No
MH
caravan (for now)
Exp
on and off since 1984