Spain and/or Portugal. (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
After the great success of our France trip which was not only our first real holiday in our van but our very first trip over the water we are now looking to go to Spain and or Portugal in January. Winters are too long and the temperatures do the gaffer a lot of good.

Firstly thanks to those who helped with advice more than they can know with our French trip. It was just ACE !

Anyway back to the subject.. I think we will take the ferry to France and meander on down to Spain. I had considered taking the ferry to either Santander or Bilbao. But as we plan on joining the club Voyage for our future French trips we may as well take advantage of the discounts from the off.

Opinions on the above most welcome. Truth is we have no real idea which is the best way to do it.

Then of course the big question ! Where in Spain do we head for ? Clueless is not an exaggeration !

Portugal is a place we visited but that was 30 years ago. We loved it so are considering adding it within the travel plans.

Any advice most welcome and as always thanks !!

Charlie.

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
if you think you will be visiting france a few times in the next year then try the french one . if not take the spanish one .
driving through france in winter is far from doing it in summer . but sometimes can be ok.
i used to do plymouth roscoff . now with the truck its actually cheaper to catch the ferry to spain than drive up and down france . never mind the ferry cost to roscoff .
just remember the middle of spain is very high and can get very snowy as well. we leave in november . ferry to santander from plymouth . summer is coming .
there is no right or wrong way to do it though . just different ways .

jumar

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 6, 2012
Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp