Solar Power / Battery when not in use (2 Viewers)

Andi1455

Free Member
Jun 9, 2021
Funster No
MH
C class
Good Morning ! Complete newbies - Upgraded out tent to our Motorhome and we cant wait to get on the road.
I have a question - Our MH is fitted with a solar panel, we understand it charges the leisure battery etc etc My question is; When we are not using the MH or before you set off, the manual says to switch the battery off......with a SP surely you would always keep the battery on? Any advice would be great. Sorry - it maybe a completely stupid question to most.

Dec 2, 2019
Amersham
Funster No
MH
van conversion
Exp
Since 2019
You should never switch the battery supply to a solar controller with solar connected. You will damage the controller.

Feb 22, 2016
York
Funster No
MH
Bailey 620 Approach
Exp
Since 2015
Not clear why (and how) the manual says to switch off the battery before you set off. The solar panel should charge your leisure battery and may also charge your cab battery. If the SP doesn’t charge the cab battery, then unless you’re on hook up, your cab battery will go flat over a few weeks and this can damage your battery as well as meaning you can’t start the van. You may fit a Battery Master which takes surplus capacity from your leisure battery and trickle feeds the cab battery.
Unless you intend storing the van for a long time without use when you could remove the batteries and keep them charged, I’d say keep the SP charging the battery or batteries.

p.s. And no questions are stupid. Everything possible related to motorhomes has been asked and probably answered on this forum. Enjoy your new way of life! 👍

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 25, 2016
Taynuilt, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer 655 Starline
Exp
Village idiot
It may be referred to the 12 volt control panel. Switch that off. UK vans like that. As has been said do not disconnect the solar controller on and off. Leave it alone.

ManTheVan

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 11, 2020
South Devon, UK