Solar Panels over Batteries !! & Control Gear (1 Viewer)

AllyMoHo

Free Member
Sep 2, 2019
Funster No
MH
A Class Pilote
Exp
I’m a newbie
Hi all, my Pilote G690 has two solar panels on top but also has another set of mounts for a 3rd panel.
I have 2 leisure batteries but wonder if there is any mileage on having a 3rd panel and dropping to 1 leisure batt to save weight. That said the MoHo has an ELB271 control unit, a solar Laderegler LR1218, and the control unit above the door is LT 69. (I can’t see a “Brand name on the LT69). All a bit foreign to me t the mo.
In all the “ booklets and gumf” that came with the MoHo I can’t see any to do it the above items.
so, a few questions if I may.....
Suggestions for getting hold of user manuals... not coming up with much on tinterwab! Schaudt website is only in German!!
Opinions on more panels over batteries would be interesting and whether the current control gear would cope.
I am also not sure on the panel ratings, the LT 69 only shows Engine. and Leisure battery voltages. I can’t see or haven’t found any displays for the solar panels, nor can I see any literature that sheds any light on panels but don’t fancy loosening one to see if it has a label underneath. Can do but don’t fancy!!
So if you have a few mins to digest and comment I’d be very grateful.
Cheers, “chocks away” for the freedom season!!

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
If you fit more panels you need more batteries you have to have somewhere to store the energy. 3 panels will be fine with 2 batteries but it would be a bit of a waste going down to one battery.
A lot of the manuals on the Schaudlt site can be downloaded in English or if you email them they will send you the English version.
LR1218 is a bit dated you would get around 25% more out of your existing panels by changing to an MPPT regulator like one from the Votronic MPP range., they are compatible with EBL's.