Solar panel - yay or nay? (1 Viewer)

Feb 19, 2022
Funster No
MH
Itineo SB740
Exp
In second year of full time travel around Europe
We are soon heading off full-time travelling through Europe and are first making a stop at SAP in Doncaster for all kinds of work, including getting two new Lithium batteries. We are umming and ahing about whether to get a solar panel too.

We are thinking that we will mostly be staying at hook-up campsites/parking places. There could be the occasional off-road overnight stay. We are literally complete newbies so hard to foresee...

Has anyone here been in a similar "boat", has a solar panel and has found it to not be needed OR has no solar panel and wishes they would have installed it?

Trying to figure out whether it’s worth the initial, and later, maintenance costs.

Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
I think I'd have gone for solar but not lots and lead acid batteries for your expected use. But if you have lots of money and want to future proof your motorhome get lithium and lots of solar and a b2b. You haven't said if you want to power any mains powered items from batteries when off grid that's going to have a big effect on what's going to be sensible to fit.

Upvote 1
Feb 24, 2018
Humberside
Funster No
MH
Geist Phantom
Exp
MoHo since March 2018.
One thing to remember for those saying not to fit lithium if using EHU is the weight saving. Some new motorhomes are being sold with very little payload so although expensive it may be worth paying for weight saving. A single 95ah Bosch battery I used to have weighed 26kg, a single 100Ah Lifepo4 battery now comes in at 13kg. I had 3xBosch and now have 2x Lifepo4 so saving 52kgs

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
If you are going to use sites and EHU absolutely no point in wasting money on Lithium.