Solar info. (1 Viewer)

Feb 16, 2020
KT15.
Funster No
MH
Sunlight. T66. 2019.
Exp
Absolute beginners.
Hi all, is this listing for the Schault a good controller to have given the following information?
<Broken link removed>
Whilst we will probably bite the bullet ultimately, at the moment I'm favouring using that controller because it will talk directly to our EBL 119, so less scope for incompatibility.
But, I will initially be using it with a 150w folding panel only to be dug out as and when required.
We are still learning, and survived three weeks together in Scotland,but we were mostly on EHU, [ except when "Calmac" decided that a 00.30, sailing to the Hebrides from Ulapool was a better choice than the 14.30 sailing from Uig we had booked !!,consequently we had a long drive to the new departure point, and once landed just had to pitch up in lay-by and have a snooze waiting for it to get light. We had water on board, and gas, so no problems.
When we do commit to permanent panels, the same controller can used for that application as well.
As stated, not ready to have fixed panels yet as we are still in our first van.
Mike.

Blue Knight

Free Member
Aug 7, 2017
Durham
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit 640
Exp
Hi Mike, that will do the job nicely and it's plug 'n' play style fit on your EBL is a win-win.

There are better controllers out there these days but at least you're going for an MPPT unit which will safeguard your batteries, especially if you have wets.

Perhaps you could try and advertise to see if anyone on here has a secondhand unit as people are always changing their gear.

All the best,

Andrew

Upvote 0

Gerryatric71

Free Member
Aug 15, 2017
Penrith
Funster No
MH
Hymer B504 SL 2007
Exp
Since Adam and Eve built one !
Have a look at the Votronic solar controllers they too can be supplied with a Schaudt wiring loom. They are in short supply at the moment depending on the size. If you are only planning on having 150w panels the Mpp 165w would suit.