Solar Controller 'Lamp' Terminals

Discussion in 'Solar Power' started by Sheddy, Oct 28, 2014.

  1. Sheddy

    Sheddy Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Burry Port South Wales / Benidorm
    Ratings:
    +8,445
    On my Phocos CA controller, which is fitted in the garage, there is a pair of termination points with a Lamp marked, obviously to connect a 12v lamp.
    I know folks have used these to power a wifi router, but does anyone know the power limit for these connections, I want to run a 12v Cigar socket into the garage and want to fuse it safely.
     
  2. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Ratings:
    +8,647
    the power is limited to that of the controller, i.e, 10W or 20W or whatever you have fitted.
    Be aware those controllers were made to control street lighting so you have to program that connection to always on, always off or a set number of hours after the solar stops generating power i.e at night. Anything connected to that port will shut down if the battery falls too low, thus protecting the battery.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,370
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,783
    Some like mine are just ON no time setting. Roger means amps (y)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Sheddy

    Sheddy Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Burry Port South Wales / Benidorm
    Ratings:
    +8,445
    Mine is ON full time, checked it in the dark, I will fit a socket and fuse it to 3 amps, which should be OK.
    Thanks
     
  5. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,370
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,783
    Yes 3 amps is plenty, probably draw less than 1 amp for a wifi hub
     
Loading...

Share This Page